Maher inspires as Duagh end 50-year drought in replay

Duagh 0-9 Beale 0-6

Half a century after Dan McAuliffe and company brought glory to the parish, Kerry county star Anthony Maher was central to a victory which sparked emotional scenes at the final whistle.

Maher lorded the air from the throw-in as Beale failed to repeat the vim and vigour which they displayed for long spells of last week’s drawn encounter.

Ian Blake converted a second minute free for Beale but his side then failed to register a score for 28 minutes as Duagh took control to race 0-5 to 0-1, with Maher, Nigel O’Connor, Kieran Duffy and Martin Scannell on target.

Beale, who squandered two glorious goal chances, finished the half well, with two converted frees from Blake leaving his side 0-5 to 0-3 behind at the interval.

Beale managed to cut the deficit to a point on the restart but were left reeling by the 43rd minute dismissal of their centre-back Paul Collins following an off-the-ball incident.

Beale wing-back Shane Joy levelled the contest in the 47th minute but it proved a false dawn — and their last score of the game.

Three unanswered points from Maurice O’Connor, Joey Shanahan and sub Jason Carmody sealed the win as Duagh were crowned champions.

Scorers for Duagh: M Scannell 0-3 frees, A Maher 0-1 free:, M O’Connor, J Shanahan, K Duffy, N O’Connor ad Jason Carmody 0-1 each.

Scorers for Beale: I Blake 0-4 (0-3 frees), J McMahon and S Joy 0-1 each

DUAGH: J. Kelly; T. McMahon, J. O’Brien, A. O’Connor; T. Scanlon, K. Quirke, D Foley; A. Maher, D Lane; P. Sheeran, M. O’Connor, J. Shanahan; K. Duffy, M. Scannell, N. O’Connor.

Subs: J Carmody for T Scanlon (40), E Stack for K Duffy (50), S Moran for D Lane (52), J McCarthy for N O’Connor (60)

BEALE: S. Dee; J. King, C. Kissane, J. Griffin; S. Joy, P. Collins, P. Blake; P. Murphy, D. Bambury; A. O’Connell, J. McMahon, J O’Connell; T. Joy, B. O’Mahony, I. Blake.

Subs: P Horgan for J O’Connell (35), C Walsh for P Murphy (56), M Moran for B O’Mahony (60), B Brosnan for P Blake (60)

Referee: S Mulvihill (St Senan’s).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.241 s