Former Tipp boss Evans joins Rossies

Former Tipperary football boss John Evans was last night installed as the new manager of Roscommon.

Evans wasn’t initially believed to be in the running but the closely kept secret was confirmed when he was ratified by officials to succeed Des Newton.

The Kerry man had a successful spell in charge of Tipp before teaming up with Seamus McEnaney in Meath for a short spell earlier this year.

He was widely credited with a behind-the-scenes coaching role that helped Meath turn the corner on a disastrous league campaign and reach the provincial final.

He was subsequently linked with the Meath position himself when McEnaney departed and, ironically, ‘Banty’ was then installed as a favourite to take over in Roscommon.

Evans, who has yet to confirm his backroom team, will have a lengthy journey back and forth from his home in Killorglin but, when linked with the Meath job months back, insisted the long haul wasn’t an issue.

Meanwhile, former Mayo minor football manager Tony Duffy was last night confirmed as the county’s new U21 boss.

The Cork footballers will open next year’s Munster football championship with a Saturday, May 25 clash against Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds.

A day later, new Kerry boss Eamonn Fitzmaurice will lead his team out in Killarney for their quarter-final tie against Tipperary.

The hurling championship will begin on June 2 when Clare meet Waterford in Thurles with Limerick hosting Tipperary the following Sunday at the Gaelic Grounds.

Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s Cork will travel to Thurles or Limerick on June 23 for their opener with Clare or Waterford.

Cork will also have to wait to find out their opposition on July 7 in the Bord Gais U21 Munster championship. They play the winners of Tipperary and Limerick, who meet on June 6 in Thurles.

The Cadbury-sponsored U21 football championship will begin with a bang on March 13 when rivals Cork take on Kerry in a mouthwatering quarter-final tie.

The Leinster Council yesterday confirmed their arrangements for the new-look O’Byrne Cup also. There will be four groups of four with Dublin and new manager Jim Gavin included in Group B with Carlow, Wicklow and holders DCU. The opening round is on January 6.

2013 Munster GAA fixtures

SHC quarter-final: June 2: Clare v Waterford.

Semi-finals: June 9: Limerick v Tipperary, Gaelic Grounds.

June 23: Cork v Clare or Waterford, Gaelic Grounds or Thurles.

Final: July 14.

SFC Quarter-finals: May 25: Cork v Limerick, Gaelic Grounds.

May 26:Kerry v Tipperary, Killarney.

Semi-finals: Clare v Cork or Limerick, Ennis; Waterford v Kerry or Tipperary, Tipperary or Kerry venue.

Final: July 7.

Bord Gais Energy U21 HC quarter-final: June 6:, Tipperary v Limerick, Thurles.

Semi-finals: July 17: Cork v Tipperary or Limerick, Tipperary or Cork venue.

July 18: Clare v Waterford, Waterford venue.

Final: August 7.

Cadbury U21 FC Quarter-finals: March 13:, Cork v Kerry, Cork venue; Tipperary v Waterford, Tipperary venue.

Semi-finals: March 27:Limerick v Cork or Kerry, Limerick or Kerry venue; Clare v Tipperary or Waterford, Tipperary or Clare venue.

Final: April 10.

Electric Ireland MHC: Quarter-finals: April 10: , Waterford v Tipperary, Waterford venue; Cork v Clare, Cork venue.

Play-off: April 17: Losers Waterford/Tipperary v Losers Cork/Clare.

Semi-finals: June 26: Limerick v Winners Waterford/Tipperary, Limerick or Tipperary venue; Winners Cork/Clare v winners play-off.

Final: July 14.

Electric Ireland MFC: Quarter-finals: April 20: Cork v Kerry, Cork venue; Clare v Tipperary, Clare venue; Limerick v Waterford, Waterford venue.

Play-off 1: April 27:, Losers Clare/Tipperary v losers Limerick/Waterford.

Play-off 2: May 4: Losers Cork/Kerry v winners Play-off 1.

Semi-finals: May 15: Winners Cork/Kerry v winners Clare/Tipperary; Winners Limerick/Waterford v winners Play-off 2.

Final: July 7.

Waterford Crystal SH (No dates)

Preliminary round

Waterford v UL, Waterford venue; Cork v UCC, Cork venue; Limerick v Mary I, Limerick venue; Kerry v IT Tralee, Kerry venue.

Quarter-finals: Clare v Waterford/UL; WIT v Cork/UCC; Tipperary v Limerick/Mary I; LIT v Kerry/IT Tralee.

McGrath Cup SF: Preliminary Round

January 6:Clare v LIT, Clare venue; Kerry v IT Tralee, Kerry venue; Cork v CIT.

Quarter-finals: January 13: Limerick v Clare/LIT; UCC v Kerry/IT Tralee; Tipperary v Cork/CIT; UL v Waterford, Waterford venue.

Semi-finals: January 20.

Final: January 27.

O’Byrne Cup SF: Group A: Longford, Meath, Louth, UCD.

Group B: Carlow, Dublin, Wicklow, DCU.

Group C: Offaly, Laois, Westmeath, AIT.

Group D: Wexford, Kildare, Carlow IT, DIT.

Walsh Cup SH: Preliminary round

January 20:, Wexford v DIT, Wexford; Westmeath v NUIG, Mullingar; Laois v UCD, Portlaoise; Carlow v Antrim, Carlow.

Quarter-finals: January 27: Offaly v Wexford/DIT, Wexford or Tullamore.

January 27:Kilkenny v Westmeath/NUIG, Mullingar or Kilkenny; Dublin v Laois/UCD, Portlaoise or Parnell Park; Galway v Carlow/Antrim, Carlow or Belfast.

Semi-finals: February 3.

Final: February 10.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day.


Knocknagree v Kanturk




Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day.