Drom-Inch march on as Borris-Ileigh sound warning

County SHC champions, Drom-Inch had a comfortable 0-21 to 0-12 win over Burgess in the third round at Dolla yesterday.

With county man Seamus Callanan in top form, Drom-Inch led 0-10 to 0-4 at the interval.

Burgess, who earlier in the week beat Éire Óg Nenagh, upped their game in the second-half with Stephen Murphy showing up well in attack. Shane Maher was also to the fore in defence but there was no stopping Drom-Inch who have recovered well from their defeat in the Mid divisional semi-final. They are getting top quality performances from Johnny Ryan, the Butlers, James Woodlock, and Eamon Buckley.

Borris-Ileigh powered their way past Cappawhite, winning by a resounding 23 points margin, 4-25 to 0-14. Brendan Maher and Mark Bourke were key figures as Borris forged an interval lead of 0-14 to 0-8 despite playing into the breeze.

There was only one team in it in the second-half. Keith Ryan’s 40th minute goal started the Borris landslide, putting them 1-17 to 0-10 ahead. Ryan got a second and Brendan Maher and Vincent Stapleton added further goals before the end.

Former forward star Darragh Egan, now operating in goal, was star of the show as Kildangan saw off the challenge of Templederry, 0-20 to 0-18. Egan made several great saves, one in particular at the finish, to deny Templederry victory.

Rory Gleeson and Ger Slattery were also key men for Kildangan while Timmy Minogue led the way for Templederry along with Thomas Stapleton. County man Gearóid Ryan lined out for Templederry but was clearly hampered by the injury which restricted his appearances in the Tipp jersey.

The Roscrea v Lorrha tie scheduled for Nenagh was postponed for a week.

Moycarkey-Borris retained their Ó Riain Cup title (county senior hurling B championship) with an emphatic 3-22 to 0-11 win over neighbours, Boherlahan-Dualla. Moycarkey led 0-9 to 0-7 at the break after Robert Doran’s 36th minute goal got them firing. Pa Carey and Rory Ryan added further goals for a 20-point win. Pat Molloy, David Sheppard, and Kieran Morris were others to shine.

Boherlahan were reduced to 14 men for the closing 10 minutes, Johnny Maher being red-carded in a game where Aidan Maher, Brian Maher, Lawrence Hickey and Fionn McCullagh stood out.

Padraig Greene, with 1-6 from play, was the star as Upperchurch-Drombane retained their senior status, defeating Aherlow 1-22 to 1-8 in the relegation play-off.

Upperchurch led 1-9 to 1-8 at the interval — Cathal Dillon getting the Aherlow goal from a penalty. Upperchurch dominated the second-half, outscoring their opponents 13 points to three, with Paul Ryan, the Shortt brothers, Colm Ryan and James Barry to the fore.

Clonoulty-Rossmore recorded a sixth West Tipp senior hurling title in-a-row when they defeated Éire Óg Anacarty, 1-22 to 2-11 at Golden.

A John O’Neill goal on the stroke of half-time gave Clonoulty an interval lead of 1-8 to 0-9. Sean Ryan’s goal for Éire Óg early in the second half gave them heart and though Brian Fox shad another, it came too late to make any meaningful difference.

A point by Liam McGrath two minutes from time gave Loughmore-Castleiney a slender 2-8 to 1-10 over holders JK Brackens in the Mid Tipperary SFC final at Templetuohy. Loughmore, thanks to a Liam McGrath goal led 1-4 to 1-3 at the interval, Colin O Riordan getting the Brackens goal. Despite conceding a second goal to Loughmore’s Cian Hennessy in the 41st minute, Brackens recovered to be level with five minutes to play but then McGrath struck what was to be the match-winner.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day.