Cusack returns for Rebels as Walsh rings changes

DÓNAL ÓG CUSACK returns to the Cork team for the first time this year when Galway visit Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday.

The three-time All-Ireland winning goalkeeper’s replacing of Martin Coleman is one of seven changes to the team that started in the defeat to Kilkenny in the previous round.

Walsh has named an entirely new midfield with Jerry O’Connor and Pa Cronin coming in for Graham Callinan and Brian Murphy. Cronin had started in the half-forward line against Kilkenny, but Niall McCarthy is the sole survivor there with Cronin and Ben O’Connor making way for Tom Kenny and Cian McCarthy.

Elsewhere, Ray Ryan comes in for Ronan Curran at left-half back, while Conor O’Sullivan takes Shane Murphy’s position in the full-back line. Midleton’s Luke Farrell is named at corner forward.

Meanwhile, Declan Ryan has also elected to name Brendan Cummins in goal for their round three game against Waterford tomorrow night.

The Ballybacon-Grange man is one of five changes to the side that lost to Dublin.

Paul Kelly, after winning a Fitzgibbon Cup medal with UL last week, is named at corner-forward with Brian O’Meara joining him at the edge of the square.

Noel McGrath returns at centre-forward and Clonoulty-Rossmore’s John O’Keeffe at left-half back are the other changes.

Waterford’s 2010 All-Star corner-back Noel Connors is out of the game against Tipperary. The Passage man has picked up an ankle injury and is set to be out for a couple of weeks.

Maurice Shanahan is expected to be included in the Waterford starting line-up for the game in Thurles.

Wexford have named Noel Carton in goal for the clash with Kilkenny.

Ciaran Kenny moves to corner-back to replace injured Keith Rossiter while Michael Jacob partners David Redmond at midfield.

Jacob’s brother Rory is replaced by Eanna Martin in the forward line while Garrett Sinnott switches to full-forward and Harry Kehoe to centre.

In Division two, Limerick manager Donal O’Grady has also made seven changes to the team that beat Westmeath last month for the visit of Down. Defender Seamus Hickey, who lined out for UL in their Sigerson Cup quarter-final yesterday, is one of the players overlooked for Sunday’s game.

CORK (SH v Galway): D Óg Cusack; S McDonnell, E Cadogan, C O’Sullivan; J Gardiner, W Egan, R Ryan; J O’Connor, P Cronin; T Kenny, C McCarthy, N McCarthy; L Farrell, P O’Sullivan, P Horgan.

TIPPERARY (SH v Waterford): B Cummins; P Stapleton, P Curran, M Cahill; D Young, Pádraic Maher, J O’Keeffe; B Maher, S McGrath; G Ryan, N McGrath, Patrick Maher; P Kelly, B O’Meara, P Bourke.

WEXFORD (SH v Kilkenny): N Carton; P Roche, M O’Hanlon, C Kenny; L Prendergast, D Stamp, C Farrell; M Jacob, D Redmond; T Waters, H Kehoe, S Banville; E Martin, G Sinnott, J Berry.

LIMERICK (v Down): B Murray; T Condon, G O’Mahoney, D Moloney; W McNamara, B Geary, D Breen; D O’Grady, E Ryan; R McCarthy, J Ryan, N Maher; P Tobin, K Downes, S Tobin.

KERRY (SH v Carlow): B Rochford; A Keane, J Godley, C Harris; A Royle, T Murnane, P O’Grady; J Griffin, D Dineen; D O’Connell, M Boyle, L Boyle; J Egan, A Boyle, S Nolan.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: ThurlesPlace: DownPerson: CusackPerson: WalshPerson: Dónal Óg CusackPerson: Martin ColemanPerson: Jerry O’ConnorPerson: Pa CroninPerson: Graham CallinanPerson: Brian MurphyPerson: CroninPerson: Niall McCarthyPerson: Ben O’ConnorPerson: Tom KennyPerson: Cian McCarthyPerson: Ray RyanPerson: Ronan CurranPerson: Conor O’SullivanPerson: Shane MurphyPerson: Luke FarrellPerson: Declan RyanPerson: Brendan CumminsPerson: Paul KellyPerson: Brian O’MearaPerson: Noel McGrathPerson: ClonoultyPerson: John O’KeeffePerson: Noel ConnorsPerson: Maurice ShanahanPerson: Noel CartonPerson: Ciaran KennyPerson: Keith RossiterPerson: Michael JacobPerson: David RedmondPerson: JacobPerson: RoryPerson: Éanna MartinPerson: Garrett SinnottPerson: Harry KehoePerson: Donal O’GradyPerson: Séamus HickeyPerson: CorkPerson: D Og CusackPerson: S McDonnellPerson: E CadoganPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: J GardinerPerson: W EganPerson: R RyanPerson: J O’ConnorPerson: T KennyPerson: C McCarthyPerson: N McCarthyPerson: L FarrellPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: P HorganPerson: P CurranPerson: M CahillPerson: D YoungPerson: Pádraic MaherPerson: J O’KeeffePerson: B MaherPerson: S McGrathPerson: G RyanPerson: N McGrathPerson: Patrick MaherPerson: P KellyPerson: B O’MearaPerson: P BourkePerson: N CartonPerson: P RochePerson: M O’HanlonPerson: C KennyPerson: L PrendergastPerson: D StampPerson: C FarrellPerson: M JacobPerson: D RedmondPerson: T WatersPerson: H KehoePerson: S BanvillePerson: E MartinPerson: G SinnottPerson: J BerryPerson: LimerickPerson: B MurrayPerson: T CondonPerson: G O’MahoneyPerson: D MoloneyPerson: W McNamaraPerson: B GearyPerson: D BreenPerson: D O’GradyPerson: E RyanPerson: R McCarthyPerson: J RyanPerson: N MaherPerson: P TobinPerson: K DownesPerson: S TobinPerson: KerryPerson: A KeanePerson: J GodleyPerson: C HarrisPerson: A RoylePerson: T MurnanePerson: P O’GradyPerson: J GriffinPerson: D DineenPerson: D O’ConnellPerson: M BoylePerson: L BoylePerson: J EganPerson: A BoylePerson: S NolanEvent: 2010 All-StarEvent: Sigerson CupOrganisation: RebelsOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: BallybaconOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: ULOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: SHOrganisation: DownOrganisation: CarlowOrganisation: Rochford
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.