Boost for Rebels as Kenny returns

FAVOURITES Cork will have Tom Kenny back in action at midfield, alongside Cathal Naughton, for Sunday’s GAA Munster hurling final against Waterford in Thurles.

It represents the only change from the side which easily disposed of Limerick in the semi-final in Páirc Uí Chaoimh – when Kenny was a late withdrawal and his place was taken by Kanturk player Lorcan McLoughlin.

During the course of the game manager Denis Walsh made five substitutions – only one of them enforced – when Brian Murphy was injured and replaced by Shane Murphy.

Meanwhile, there was no white smoke from the Waterford camp last night regarding team selection for Sunday’s Munster senior hurling final, and it’s likely manager Davy Fitzgerald will not reveal his hand until this evening at the earliest.

However, he has several injury concerns. The Tallow duo of defender Aidan Kearney and corner forward Tomas Ryan are both definitely ruled out, while the versatile Richie Foley of Abbeyside has also been struggling with an injury he picked up on the training ground last weekend. Richie Foley is reportedly in a race against the clock to be passed fit.

While Jamie Nagle has taken a full part in training for the past ten days after a persistent hamstring problem in the semi-final defeat of Clare, the Dungarvan clubman has since failed to field in a championship game with his club Dungarvan and in two challenge outings against Wexford and Tipperary.

Limerick travel to Tullamore tomorrow for a 7pm game against Offaly in the All-Ireland qualifier competition with a team showing five changes in personnel from the meeting with Cork. Injuries rule out David Breen, Shaun O’Riordan and Des Kenny, Andrew Brennan and Sean Kenny.

Cian Hayes replaces Breen at full-back, Lorcan O’Dwyer comes in at right half-back and Daniel Moore partners Thomas O’Brien at midfield.

Up front, James V O’Brien (Na Piarsaigh) has been chosen at right half-forward and Nickey Quaid is named on the other wing.

Both O’Rourke and Quaid were introduced as subs in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

The Offaly team has yet to be named and manager Joe Dooley has a number of injury concerns, with Derek Molloy unavailable and Stephen Egan expected to miss after being forced off injured in the second game against Galway.

Anthony Daly has made two changes in the full-forward line for Dublin’s qualifier game against his native Clare in Croke Park tomorrow.

Peadar Carton replaces Simon Lambert while Declan O’Dwyer comes in for Liam Ryan.

Positional alterations see Alan McCrabbe named at wing-forward and Liam Rushe in the centre.

CORK (SH v Waterford): D Óg Cusack; S O’Neill, E Cadogan, B Murphy; J Gardiner, R Curran, S Óg O hAilpín; T Kenny, C Naughton; B O’Connor, J O’Connor, N McCarthy; K Murphy (capt), A O hAilpín, P Horgan.

LIMERICK: (SH v Offaly): T Flynn; S O’Neill, C Hayes, K O’Rourke; L O’Dwyer, B O’Sullivan (capt), P Browne; T O’Brien, D Moore; James O’Brien, James V O’Brien, N Quaid; R McKeogh, A Owens, G Mulcahy.

DUBLIN (SH v Clare): G Maguire; N Corcoran, T Brady, O Gough; S Hiney (capt), J Boland, M O’Brien; J McCaffrey, S Durkin; P Kelly, L Rushe, A McCrabbe; P Carton, D O’Dwyer, D O’Callaghan.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: ThurlesPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: TullamorePlace: Croke ParkPerson: KennyPerson: Tom KennyPerson: Cathal NaughtonPerson: Lorcan McLoughlinPerson: Denis WalshPerson: Brian MurphyPerson: Shane MurphyPerson: Davy FitzgeraldPerson: Aidan KearneyPerson: Tomás RyanPerson: Richie FoleyPerson: Jamie NaglePerson: David BreenPerson: Shaun O’RiordanPerson: Des KennyPerson: Andrew BrennanPerson: Seán KennyPerson: Cian HayesPerson: BreenPerson: Lorcan O’DwyerPerson: Daniel MoorePerson: Thomas O’BrienPerson: James V O’BrienPerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: Nickey QuaidPerson: O’RourkePerson: QuaidPerson: Joe DooleyPerson: Derek MolloyPerson: Stephen EganPerson: Anthony DalyPerson: Peadar CartonPerson: Simon LambertPerson: Declan O’DwyerPerson: Liam RyanPerson: Alan McCrabbePerson: Liam RushePerson: CorkPerson: D Og CusackPerson: S O’NeillPerson: E CadoganPerson: B MurphyPerson: J GardinerPerson: R CurranPerson: S Og O hAilpinPerson: T KennyPerson: C NaughtonPerson: B O’ConnorPerson: J O’ConnorPerson: N McCarthyPerson: K MurphyPerson: A Ó hAilpínPerson: P HorganPerson: C HayesPerson: K O’RourkePerson: L O’DwyerPerson: B O’SullivanPerson: P BrownePerson: T O’BrienPerson: D MoorePerson: James O’BrienPerson: N QuaidPerson: R McKeoghPerson: A OwensPerson: G MulcahyPerson: DUBLINPerson: G MaguirePerson: N CorcoranPerson: T BradyPerson: O GoughPerson: S HineyPerson: J BolandPerson: M O’BrienPerson: J McCaffreyPerson: S DurkinPerson: P KellyPerson: L RushePerson: A McCrabbePerson: P CartonPerson: D O’DwyerPerson: D O’CallaghanEvent: GAA Munster hurling finalEvent: Munster Senior Hurling finalEvent: -IrelandOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: TallowOrganisation: AbbeysideOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: DungarvanOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: Páirc Uí ChaoimhOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: Dublin
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.

Execution Time: 0.194 s