Féile na nGael gets Banner flavour

THE 2010 instalment of hurling’s Féile na nGael festival takes place in Clare this weekend with hurling, camogie and handball teams from the 32 counties and the UK taking part.

This is the 40th year of the competition, with proceedings set to be launched tonight at 6.30pm by the official parade involving each competing club at Cusack Park, Ennis and concluding at O’Connell Square in Ennis an hour later, with an official address by GAA president Christy Cooney.

More than 70 clubs from Ireland and the UK will partake in the parade as Clare act as hosts of the event for the first time since 1987, when a Wolfe Tones team featuring former AllStar Frank Lohan became the first team to win three Féile titles in-a-row.

The first round of matches in the competitions take place at clubs throughout this afternoon, with all the group action completed by tomorrow afternoon, and the quarter-final and semi-final ties down to be played tomorrow evening.

On Sunday morning, action begins at 9.30am with the handball finals, with the hurling and camogie finals beginning from 10am.

The finals of Divisions 1-4 in hurling and 1-2 in camogie will be held in Cusack Park, Ennis and the finals of Divisions 5 and 6 hurling, and Divisions 3 and 4 camogie are down for decision in Clarecastle.

More than 800 families in Clare clubs will be hosting the visitors with several high-profile clubs around the country taking part. Some of the group games will also take place in Galway and Limerick venues.

The Christy Ring trophy for the Division 1 hurling winners will be contested by Durlas Óg (Tipperary), Limerick pair Monaleen and Na Piarsaigh, Galway trio Gort, Turloughmore and Ardrahan, Kilkenny duo Bennettsbridge and O’Loughlin Gaels, Na Piarsaigh (Cork), Kilmacud Crokes (Dublin), Kilcormac-Killoughey (Offaly), De La Salle (Waterford) and St Martin’s (Wexford).

Clare clubs Clonlara, Sixmilebridge, Inagh/Kilnamona, Kilmaley, Éire Óg, St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield and Wolfe Tones are also in Division 1 of the hurling competition.

The Camogie Division 1 section will feature Galway clubs Craughwell, Turloughmore, Clarenbridge, Ardrahan and Sarsfields, Danesfort (Kilkenny), St Johns (Antrim), St Martins (Wexford), Lucan Sarsfields (Dublin), Newcastlewest (Limerick), Courcey Rovers (Cork), Burgess (Tipperary), Drom-Inch (Tipperary), Ballinascreen (Derry), and Clare clubs Sixmilebridge and Newmarket-on-Fergus.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up