Key duo miss out for Red Hand

RYAN McMENAMIN and Davy Harte have both been omitted from the Tyrone team for Saturday’s Ulster SFC semi-final against Down due to hamstring and calf injuries respectively.

Conor Gormley, who missed the provincial quarter-final win over Antrim with a knee injury, comes back into the team at centre-back instead of McMenamin, while there’s a first championship start for Peter Harte, who was introduced during the Antrim game, at right half-back as he replaces his cousin Davy. The McGuigan brothers, Brian and Tommy, have to be content with places on the bench again for this game.

Down manager James McCartan has made two changes to his starting 15 from their quarter-final win over Donegal. Ambrose Rogers comes back into the team at midfield, with Dan Gordon going to full-forward and John Clarke dropping to the bench. The other switch sees Conor Maginn replace Paul McComiskey in attack.

Cork boss Denis Walsh has named the same starting 15 for Sunday’s Munster SHC semi-final against Limerick in Páirc Uí Chaoimh that emphatically defeated Tipperary in their quarter-final tie at the same venue last month. It was widely expected Walsh would make no changes and his only injury worry Tom Kenny has shrugged off a hamstring problem to start at midfield. In a further boost to Cork’s attacking options, Bishopstown player Patrick Cronin has been included amongst the substitutes after being sidelined since January with a knee injury. Cronin made his inter-county comeback against Offaly in a challenge last Sunday and struck 0-3 when sprung from the bench.

Galway manager John McIntyre has made two changes to his attack for their Leinster SHC semi-final tie against Offaly in Croke Park next Sunday, from the side that defeated Wexford in the quarter-final clash in Nowlan Park last month. Left half-forward Andy Smith was ruled out due to suspension after being red carded in that Wexford game, with Aonghus Callanan coming into the team in his place. The other change sees Iarla Tannian, who was omitted after the league final win over Cork, replace Joe Gantley at left corner-forward, Both Callanan and Tannian featured as sub against Wexford.

The Leitrim footballers have opted to retire the No. 10 jersey for the coming season in memory of wing-forward Philly McGuinness who died tragically while playing for his club Mohill in April. The 26-year-old died in hospital after suffering an injury in a club game against Melvin Gaels and Colm Clarke, who has been picked at right half-forward for Sunday’s Connacht SFC semi-final against Roscommon in Dr Hyde Park, will wear the No. 17 jersey. There are two players given championship debuts for Sunday’s game with Wayne McKeon starting at left half-back and Ray Mulvey selected at left corner-forward.

The management team of Mickey Moran and John Morrison make seven changes from the team defeated by Roscommon in the provincial championship last year. The new faces in are goalkeeper Enda Lyons, right corner-back Daniel Beck, centre-back Shane Foley, left half-back McKeon, centre-forward David O’Connor, left half-forward Michael Foley and left corner-forward Ray Mulvey.

Laois boss Sean Dempsey has named an unchanged line-up for Saturday’s Leinster SFC quarter-final replay against Meath at Tullamore. Dempsey has resisted the temptation for change, despite the impressive contributions made by substitutes Padraig Clancy, Michael John Tierney and John O’Loughlin in last Sunday’s drawn encounter at Croke Park. All three got on the scoresheet as Laois came from behind both in normal time and extra-time to secure a second chance in the replay. Niall Donoher, Denis Booth and Darren Rooney, who also saw action off the bench in last weekend’s game, are kept in reserve again.

TYRONE (SF v Down): P McConnell; M Swift, Justin McMahon, D Carlin; P Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan; C Cavanagh, K Hughes; B Dooher, S Cavanagh, Joe McMahon; M Penrose, S O’Neill, O Mulligan. Subs: J Devine, K Coney, M Donnelly, D Harte, C McCarron, C McCullagh, B McGuigan, T McGuigan, N McKenna, R McMenamin, R McNabb, R Mulgrew, S O’Neill, PJ Quinn.

DOWN (SF v Tyrone): B McVeigh; D Rooney, B McArdle, D Rafferty; K McKernan, J Colgan, C Garvey; A Rogers, K King; D Hughes, M Poland, B Coulter; C Maginn, D Gordon, M Clarke.

CORK (SH v Limerick): D Óg Cusack; S O’Neill, E Cadogan, B Murphy; J Gardiner, R Curran, S Óg O’hAilpín; T Kenny, C Naughton; B O’Connor, J O’Connor, N McCarthy; K Murphy, A O’hAilpín, P Horgan. Subs: M Coleman, S Murphy, E Dillon, C O’Sullivan, R Ryan, M Walsh, L McLoughlin, M Cussen, P O’Sullivan, A Nash, M O’Sullivan, G Callanan, W Egan, L O’Farrell, P Cronin.

GALWAY (SH v Offaly): C Callanan; D Joyce, S Kavanagh, O Canning; D Barry, T Óg Regan, D Collins; G Farragher, D Burke; D Hayes, C Donnellan, A Callanan; A Harte, J Canning, I Tannian.

LEITRIM (SF v Roscommon): E Lyons; D Beck, J McKeon, D Reynolds; J Glancy (St Marys), S Foley, W McKeon; T Beirne, S Canning; C Clarke, D O’Connor, M Foley; R Cox, J Glancy (Glencar/Manorhamilton), R Mulvey.

LAOIS (SF v Meath): M Nolan; P O’Leary, M Timmons, P McMahon; C Healy, C Ryan, C Begley; B Quigley, K Meaney; B Sheehan, C Rogers, D Strong; P Cahillane, D Kingston, R Munnelly.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: BishopstownPlace: Croke ParkPlace: Nowlan ParkPlace: Dr Hyde ParkPlace: TullamorePerson: Ryan McMenaminPerson: Davy HartePerson: Conor GormleyPerson: McMenaminPerson: Peter HartePerson: DavyPerson: McGuiganPerson: BrianPerson: TommyPerson: James McCartanPerson: Ambrose RogersPerson: Dan GordonPerson: John ClarkePerson: Conor MaginnPerson: Paul McComiskeyPerson: Denis WalshPerson: WalshPerson: Tom KennyPerson: Patrick CroninPerson: CroninPerson: John McIntyrePerson: Andy SmithPerson: Aonghus CallananPerson: Iarla TannianPerson: Joe GantleyPerson: CallananPerson: TannianPerson: Philly McGuinnessPerson: Melvin GaelsPerson: Colm ClarkePerson: Wayne McKeonPerson: Ray MulveyPerson: Mickey MoranPerson: John MorrisonPerson: Enda LyonsPerson: Daniel BeckPerson: Shane FoleyPerson: McKeonPerson: David O’ConnorPerson: Michael FoleyPerson: Seán DempseyPerson: DempseyPerson: Padraig ClancyPerson: Michael John TierneyPerson: John O’LoughlinPerson: Niall DonoherPerson: Denis BoothPerson: Darren RooneyPerson: TyronePerson: M SwiftPerson: Justin McMahonPerson: D CarlinPerson: P HartePerson: C GormleyPerson: P JordanPerson: C CavanaghPerson: K HughesPerson: B DooherPerson: S CavanaghPerson: Joe McMahonPerson: M PenrosePerson: S O’NeillPerson: O MulliganPerson: J DevinePerson: K ConeyPerson: M DonnellyPerson: D HartePerson: C McCarronPerson: C McCullaghPerson: B McGuiganPerson: T McGuiganPerson: N McKennaPerson: R McMenaminPerson: R McNabbPerson: R MulgrewPerson: PJ QuinnPerson: B McVeighPerson: D RooneyPerson: B McArdlePerson: D RaffertyPerson: K McKernanPerson: J ColganPerson: C GarveyPerson: A RogersPerson: K KingPerson: D HughesPerson: M PolandPerson: B CoulterPerson: C MaginnPerson: D GordonPerson: M ClarkePerson: CorkPerson: D Og CusackPerson: E CadoganPerson: B MurphyPerson: J GardinerPerson: R CurranPerson: S Og O’hAilpinPerson: T KennyPerson: C NaughtonPerson: B O’ConnorPerson: J O’ConnorPerson: N McCarthyPerson: K MurphyPerson: A O’hAilpinPerson: P HorganEvent: Ulster SFC semiEvent: Munster SHC semi-finalEvent: Leinster SHCEvent: Connacht SFCEvent: Leinster SFC quarter-finalOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: DownOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: MohillOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: MeathOrganisation: SH
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.203 s