Limerick look to goal-hero Tobin

PAT TOBIN replaces Sean O’Connor on the Limerick team for next Saturday’s Munster SHC semi-final replay at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Tobin deputised for O’Connor in last weekend’s thrilling drawn encounter at the Gaelic Grounds after the first-choice Limerick full-forward aggravated an old hamstring injury. Tobin proceeded to score the all-important equalising goal in the closing stages, and with O’Connor ruled out because of injury, Tobin has been rewarded for his heroics.

Tobin is named at right-corner forward with Andrew O’Shaughnessy moving to full forward in an otherwise unchanged Limerick side.

Meanwhile Tipperary revealed last night that they are not in a position to name their side until just before the start of the replay due to injuries sustained in the drawn game to ace forward Eoin Kelly and the Premier County’s midfield partnership of Shane McGrath and James Woodlock.

Both Kelly and Woodlock sustained hand injuries at the Gaelic Grounds, while McGrath received rib and shoulder injuries.

As a consequence, Tipperary have added Alan Byrne, Conor O’Brien and Danny O’Hanlon to their championship panel.

Kilbride’s Anthony McDermott is the only championship newcomer on the Roscommon team to face Sligo in Sunday’s Connacht SFC semi-final at Dr Hyde Park.

McDermott is named at full back on a team that is notable for the return of Gary Cox and Derek Connellan, both of whom missed last year’s championship. Cox will lead the attack, while Connellan is named alongside Karol Mannion and Ger Heneghan in a potent-looking full forward line.

Seamus O’Neill has fully recovered from the ankle injury he sustained in the National League Division 2 semi-final win over Cavan in April to renew his midfield partnership with Michael Finneran.

Sligo are waiting on a fitness report concerning their star player, Eamon O’Hara, before announcing their team tonight. O’Hara picked up a knee injury in a club game a few weeks ago and has been struggling to regain full fitness.

Sligo are already without midfielder Tony Taylor, who recently underwent surgery on his injured knee and has been ruled out for the rest of the season.

Antrim hurlers will be without Dunloy men Malachy Molloy and Paddy Richmond in the Guinness All-Ireland qualifiers.

Molloy will be ruled out for at least six weeks after receiving a broken hand in a recent Antrim League game.

An Antrim GAA statement also added that Richmond could not “fully commit himself to the heavy training schedule” because of his upcoming marriage.

Both Molloy and Richmond were named in last year’s Christy Ring Cup team of the season.

Molloy started in the facile Ulster final win over Down 10 days ago while Richmond was a second-half substitute.

The Saffrons open their qualifiers campaign with a home game against Clare on June 30.

They will then face Laois at Casement on July 7 before an away tussle against Galway on July 14.

LIMERICK (SHC v Tipperary): B. Murray; S. Lucey, D. Reale, S. Hickey; M. O’Riordan, B. Geary, M. Foley; P. Lawlor, D. O’Grady; N. Moran, O. Moran, Mike O’Brien; P. Tobin, A. O’Shaughnessy, B. Foley.

ROSCOMMON (SFC v Sligo): G. Claffey; S. McDermott, A. McDermott, P. O’Connor; S, Daly, D. Casey, R. Dooner; S. O’Neill, M. Finneran; J. Tiernan, G. Cox, C. Cregg; D. Connellan, K. Mannion, G. Heneghan.

More in this section

GaaPlace: Semple Stadium, ThurlesPlace: Gaelic GroundsPlace: Dr Hyde ParkPlace: CasementPerson: TobinPerson: Pat TobinPerson: Seán O’ConnorPerson: O’ConnorPerson: Andrew O’ShaughnessyPerson: Eoin KellyPerson: Shane McGrathPerson: James WoodlockPerson: KellyPerson: WoodlockPerson: McGrathPerson: Alan ByrnePerson: Conor O’BrienPerson: Danny O’HanlonPerson: Anthony McDermottPerson: McDermottPerson: Gary CoxPerson: Derek ConnellanPerson: CoxPerson: ConnellanPerson: Karol MannionPerson: Ger HeneghanPerson: Seamus O’NeillPerson: Michael FinneranPerson: Eamon O’HaraPerson: O’HaraPerson: Tony TaylorPerson: DunloyPerson: Malachy MolloyPerson: Paddy RichmondPerson: MolloyPerson: RichmondPerson: LimerickPerson: B. MurrayPerson: S. LuceyPerson: RealePerson: S. HickeyPerson: M. O’RiordanPerson: GearyPerson: M. FoleyPerson: P. LawlorPerson: N. MoranPerson: O. MoranPerson: Mike O’BrienPerson: P. TobinPerson: A. O’ShaughnessyPerson: B. FoleyPerson: G. ClaffeyPerson: S. McDermottPerson: A. McDermottPerson: P. O’ConnorPerson: S,Person: DalyPerson: D. CaseyPerson: R. DoonerPerson: S. O’NeillPerson: M. FinneranPerson: J. TiernanPerson: G. CoxPerson: CreggPerson: D. ConnellanPerson: K. MannionPerson: G. HeneghanEvent: Munster SHCEvent: Connacht SFCEvent: National League Division 2Event: Guinness All-IrelandEvent: Antrim LeagueEvent: ChristyOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: Premier CountyOrganisation: KilbrideOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: CavanOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: Antrim GAAOrganisation: SaffronsOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: SHCOrganisation: SFC
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.