Ballincollig produce big display to master Nemo

OUTSIDERS Ballincollig produced the shock of the Evening Echo Cork SFC opening round at Ovens yesterday when defeating kingpins Nemo Rangers 3-4 to 1-7 to guarantee themselves senior status for at least another year.

There was no fluke about the result, despite Nemo storming into a 1-1 to 0-0 lead in the first minute through James Masters playing into the wind.

While full-forward John Kelly’s 57th minute goal was decisive, Ballincollig had a team of heroes. Kelly scored 1-1 from play and set up his brother Patrick for a goal.

Niall O’Sullivan (Nemo) and Brian Cotter got straight red cards. The latter will hope it doesn’t keep him out of Saturday’s All-Ireland U-21 semi-final against Laois.

Scorers: Ballincollig: J. Kelly 1-1; P. Kelly, A. O’Donovan 1-0 each; M. Greene 0-2 (0-1 free); P. Corcoran 0-1. Nemo: J. Masters 1-5 (0-2 frees); P. Kerrigan, D. Mehigan 0-1 each.

A PEACH of a goal from Robert O’Mahony turned the game for St Finbarr’s as they triumphed 1-13 to 0-11, in their local derby against Bishopstown at Páirc Uí Rinn yesterday.

O’Mahony struck 15 minutes from the end when he raced onto a probing kick from midfielder Jim O’Donoghue before punching the decisive goal past goalkeeper Ken O’Halloran.

Scorers: St. Finbarr’s: R. O’Mahony 1-2; G. Leahy 0-3; A. Callinan 0-2; J. O’Donoghue 0-2; C. O’Sullivan 0-2; P. Murphy and R. Curran 0-1 each. Bishopstown: J. Ferriter 0-4 (0-3 from frees); J. L. O’Sullivan 0-2; D. Crowley 0-2; D. Murphy, J. O’Shea and R. Honohan 0-1 each.

A SHOCK of sorts but a well deserved 1-12 to 1-10 victory for Naomh Aban who had it wrapped up before O’Donovan Rossa got a late goal in this SFC first round clash at Ahiohill.

While the point-scoring of both teams got the plaudits of the large crowd it was the Ballyvourney goal, by substitute Colmán Ó’Túama, that made all the difference.

Scorers: Naomh Abán: M Ó’Cróinin 0-7 (0-3 frees, 0-1 ‘45), C Ó’Túama 1-0, J McCárthaigh 0-2, A Ó’Cróinin 0-2, D O’Súilleabháin 0-1. O’Donovan Rossa: C McCarthy 1-6, J Werner 0-2 (0-1 free), N McCarthy (jnr), R Long (free) 0-1 each.

ALTHOUGH Dohenys and Castlehaven were guaranteed a place in the third round at Roscarberry yesterday, pride was at stake in this derby, which Dohenys won 2-12 to 2-7.

Forty minutes into a free-flowing contest, Castlehaven, who had just drawn level, carved open Doheny’s but Bernie Collins was denied a goal by the outstretched leg of full back Paul Deane. Had it gone in, the Haven might have gone on to win but Dohenys finished the stronger.

Scorers: Dohenys: G McCarthy 2-4 (0-3 frees), M Farr 0-2, S Farr 0-2 (0-1 free), D O’Donovan, D Healy, P Collins, P McCarthy 0-1 each. Castlehaven: S Cahalane 0-4 (0-2 frees), S Hurley, D O’Neill 1-0 each, B Collins 0-3.

CLONAKILTY need a marked improvement to have any chance of further progress in the SFC after this less than impressive 1-8 to 1-6 win over St Michael’s at windy Brinny yesterday.

It was a sub-standard clash, with little flowing football, and too many misplaced passes and handling errors.

Scorers: Clonakilty: C Callanan 1-2; C Murphy 0-3 (frees); P Griffin 0-2; C O’Donovan 0-1. St Michael’s: A O’Donovan 1-5 (0-3 frees; 0-1 ‘45’); M Mulconry 0-1.

A MAGNIFICENT Paul O’Brien injury time goal gave St Nicholas a dramatic 1-10 to 0-12 victory over Ilen Rovers at Bandon on Saturday.

The West Cork side looked to have their round three place secured as they entered the closing minutes with a two-point lead. But in a last attack, captain O’Brien hit the winning goal.

Scorers: St. Nicholas: P. O’Brien 1-2; J. Kearney 0-2 (frees); D. Brosnan, N. Harte, G. Callanan, N. Horgan, D. Cunningham, D. Busteed 0-1 each. Ilen Rovers: J. Whooley, B. O’Sullivan, K. O’Sullivan (frees), K. Daly, C. O’Driscoll 0-2 each; F. Collins, D. Duggan 0-1 each.

AGHADA defied the odds with a power-packed display at Ballinacurra, sending 14-man Na Piarsaigh into a difficult relegation and championship survival battle with Bishopstown thanks to a 0-10 to 0-9 victory.

It took a late point from full back Billy Hennessy and an injury time free kick from the reliable Trevor O’Keeffe to give Aghada the victory.

Scorers: Aghada: T O’Keeffe 0-5 (0-4 frees), S O’Keeffe 0-2 (frees), E O’Neill, T O’Neill and B Hennessy 0-1 each. Na Piarsaigh: J Gardiner 0-4 (0-3 frees), C O’Mahony and S O’Sullivan 0-2 each, M Prendergast 0-1.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: ovensplace: páirc uí rinnplace: roscarberryplace: ballinacurraperson: ballincolligperson: nemoperson: james mastersperson: john kellyperson: kellyperson: patrickperson: niall o’sullivanperson: brian cotterperson: j. kellyperson: p. kellyperson: a. o’donovanperson: m. greeneperson: p. corcoranperson: j. mastersperson: p. kerriganperson: d. mehiganperson: robert o’mahonyperson: o’mahonyperson: jim o’donoghueperson: ken o’halloranperson: r. o’mahonyperson: g. leahyperson: a. callinanperson: j. o’donoghueperson: c. o’sullivanperson: p. murphyperson: r. curranperson: j. ferriterperson: j. l. o’sullivanperson: d. crowleyperson: d. murphyperson: j. o’sheaperson: r. honohanperson: naomh abanperson: o’donovan rossaperson: ballyvourneyperson: colmán ó’túamaperson: m o’croininperson: c o’tuamaperson: j mccárthaighperson: a ó’cróininperson: dperson: o’suilleabhainperson: c mccarthyperson: j wernerperson: n mccarthyperson: r longperson: dohenysperson: dohenyperson: bernie collinsperson: paul deaneperson: g mccarthyperson: mperson: s farrperson: d o’donovanperson: d healyperson: p collinsperson: p mccarthyperson: s hurleyperson: b collinsperson: clonakiltyperson: brinnyperson: callananperson: c murphyperson: pperson: griffinperson: cperson: o’donovanperson: m mulconryperson: paul o’brienperson: o’brienperson: p. o’brienperson: j. kearneyperson: d. brosnanperson: n. harteperson: g. callananperson: n. horganperson: d. cunninghamperson: d. busteedperson: j. whooleyperson: b. o’sullivanperson: k. o’sullivanperson: k. dalyperson: c. o’driscollperson: f. collinsperson: d. dugganperson: billy hennessyperson: trevor o’keeffeperson: aghadaperson: t o’keeffeperson: s o’keeffeperson: e o’neillperson: t o’neillperson: b hennessyperson: na piarsaighperson: j gardinerperson: c o’mahonyperson: s o’sullivanperson: m prendergastevent: all-ireland u-21organisation: evening echo cork sfcorganisation: kingpinsorganisation: nemo rangersorganisation: laoisorganisation: ballincolligorganisation: st finbarrorganisation: bishopstownorganisation: st. finbarrorganisation: sfcorganisation: castlehavenorganisation: havenorganisation: st michael’sorganisation: st nicholasorganisation: ilen roversorganisation: bandonorganisation: west corkorganisation: st. nicholasorganisation: piarsaigh

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.