Murphy replaces O'Dwyer between the posts for Cork

BOHERBUE'S KEVIN Murphy replaces regular goalkeeper Kevin O’Dwyer on the Cork team to play Tyrone in the Allianz NFL at Pairc Ui Rinn on Sunday.

O’Dwyer was not considered as he is due to be married on the eve of the match.

The Cork selectors have made two other changes from the side that lost to Mayo last weekend. Anthony Lynch comes back into the team at centre-back, with Sean Levis moving to right half back in place of Noel O’Leary.

Up front, James Masters is selected at right half forward, with Cian O’Riordan dropping down to the substitutes’ bench.

Team selector Colman Corrigan said Cork played very well in Ballina last Sunday and were unlucky not to come away with the win.

“We cleaned them out at midfield but missed four goal chances. As a result of losing to Mayo, the Tyrone game takes on added significance. We need the win to stay in contention.

Former Meath All-Ireland star Liam Hayes summed up the drubbing Carlow got from Longford as a kick in the “rear end” for him and the players.

Hayes was responding to the comprehensive 1-19 to 0-9 defeat his side received at the hands of the Division 2 table-toppers last Sunday, which leaves the Barrowsiders with just a single point from three games.

Hayes feels such an experience should make them realise how much work they have to do.

“For confidence alone victories are important, particularly with our championship opponents Wexford performing well.

“The Longford defeat was painful. We have to try and lift ourselves for Leitrim on Sunday.

“Really we’re starting from scratch again.”

Division 1B table-toppers Wexford have no injury problems ahead of their long trip to Markievicz Park on Sunday. However, Redmond Barry will play with the hurlers against Tipperary in Semple Stadium.

Armagh boss Joe Kernan must plan without the services of Malachy Macken and goalkeeper Colm McKinney for Sunday’s local derby clash with great foes Down in Crossmaglen.Both players were carried off in the win over Laois last Sunday and Macken was forced to stay overnight in hospital in Portlaoise with a shoulder injury. Kernan won’t name his team until later in the week.

Four members of the Waterford senior team are named in the county U-21 football line-up for Saturday’s Munster championship first round clash against Tipperary in Fermoy (1.30pm). The quartet are corner-back Kieran Connery, midfielder Eamonn Walsh, and forwards Liam O’Lionain and Patrick Hurney.

CORK (SF v Tyrone): K Murphy; N Geary, M Cronin, G Murphy; S Levis, A Lynch, E Sexton; N Murphy, D Kavanagh; J Masters, C McCarthy, K MacMahon; J Hayes, B Ger O’Sullivan, K O’Sullivan.

WATERFORD (U-21 FC v Tipperary): P Walsh (Nire) capt.; S Nugent (Brickey Rangers), S Prendergast (Kilrossanty), K Connery (Clashmore); P Lynch (Ballinacourty), D Hickey (Brickey Rangers), M Prendergast (Kilrossanty); E Walsh (St Olivers), M Fives (Ballinacourty); L O’Lionain (Gaeltacht), M Whelan (Tramore), T Grey (Stradbally); I Cantwell (De La Salle), P Hurney (Ballinacourty), G O’Connor (Gaultier).

Subs: D Dennisson (De La Salle), S Fleming (Clashmore), K McBride (De La Salle), T Power (Bonmahon), C Phelan (Brickey Rangers), P Phelan (Ballinacourty), B Prendergast (Kilrossanty), D. Fives (Ballinacourty), S. McGrath (Brickey Rangers).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: páirc uí rinnplace: ballinaplace: longfordplace: markievicz parkplace: semple stadiumplace: crossmaglen.bothplace: portlaoiseplace: fermoyplace: waterfordperson: murphyperson: o'dwyerperson: kevin murphyperson: kevin o’dwyerperson: o’dwyerperson: anthony lynchperson: sean levisperson: noel o’learyperson: james mastersperson: cian o’riordanperson: liam hayesperson: hayesperson: redmond barryperson: joe kernanperson: malachy mackenperson: colm mckinneyperson: mackenperson: kernanperson: kieran conneryperson: eamonn walshperson: liam o’lionainperson: patrick hurneyperson: corkperson: k murphyperson: n gearyperson: mperson: g murphyperson: s levisperson: a lynchperson: e sextonperson: n murphyperson: d kavanaghperson: j mastersperson: c mccarthyperson: k macmahonperson: j hayesperson: bperson: ger o’sullivanperson: k o’sullivanperson: p walshperson: s nugentperson: s prendergastperson: kilrossantyperson: k conneryperson: p lynchperson: d hickeyperson: m prendergastperson: e walshperson: m fivesperson: ballinacourtyperson: l o’lionainperson: m whelanperson: tramoreperson: t greyperson: i cantwellperson: la salleperson: p hurneyperson: g o’connorperson: gaultierperson: d dennissonperson: s flemingperson: clashmoreperson: k mcbrideperson: t powerperson: bonmahonperson: c phelanperson: p phelanperson: b prendergastperson: s. mcgrathevent: munster championshiporganisation: corkorganisation: tyroneorganisation: mayoorganisation: barrowsidersorganisation: wexfordorganisation: longfordorganisation: leitrimorganisation: laoisorganisation: waterfordorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: sforganisation: u-21 fcorganisation: brickey rangersorganisation: ballinacourtyorganisation: st oliversorganisation: gaeltachtorganisation: de la salleorganisation: kilrossantyorganisation: d.

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.