McGee returns for clash with Donegal

JONATHON McGEE comes back into the Dublin team for next Monday's Bank of Ireland All-Ireland SFC quarter-final clash with Donegal at Croke Park.

Dublin’s regular centre-back missed the Leinster final because of a leg injury.

With Paul Curran ruled out because of an ankle injury he sustained in training last week, the odds were on a hasty return for McGee.

McGee is named in the pivotal berth with Peader Andrews moving to left half-back.

Kerry have named the same starting 15 that lined out against Kildare in Thurles last Saturday for their quarter-final tie with champions Galway at Croker on Sunday.

Allstar Johnny Crowley and Aodán MacGearailt, who were introduced during the highly impressive performance against the Lilywhites, are again being held in reserve.

Much to Mayo’s delight brilliant centre-back James Nallen and left corner-back Padraigh Naughton both passed fitness tests last night and have been included in the side to meet Cork in the All-Ireland quarter-final at Croke park on Monday.

Nallen missed the start of last weekend’s victory over Tipperary because of a knee injury. Naughton was also sidelined with a knee injury. Nallen came on as a second-half substitute when his deputy Alan Roche was carried off after breaking two bones in his foot.

But there is no staring place for the prodigal son of Mayo football, Kieran McDonald. Returning to the fold last weekend midway through the second half of the Tipperary game McDonald scored four smashing points. But manager Pat Holmes has decided, in his wisdom, to keep the Crossmolina wizard on hold from the start of this one against the Munster champions.

Sligo, who take on Ulster champions Armagh in the first game on the Croke Park double-header on Sunday, have made just one change from the side that sprung a major surprise with a great victory over highly fancied Tyrone in the last round of the qualifiers.

Niall Carew, who came on as a replacement at right corner back Mark Cosgrove on that auspicious occasion has been selected to start on this occasion, obviously having proved his wares.

Tyrone have completely reshaped their attack for tomorrow’s All-Ireland MFC quarter-final against Kerry at Portlaoise.

Only Patrick Early retains the position he held in the Ulster final defeat by Derry, and managers Liam Donnelly and Martin Coyle have replaced the entire full forward line.

Damien McDermott wins back his place at left corner forward, while Ciaran Shields takes over in the other corner, and Ciaran Bannon is the new centre forward. Damien Meenan moves from centre forward to the left wing, from where Colm Doris switches to full forward.

Tipperary make two changes for their All Ireland minor football championship quarter final against Derry at Navan tomorrow from the side which lost to Kerry in the Munster final. Neville Melburne replaces Brendan Healy in defence and Stephen Murphy comes into the attack instead of Paul Breen.

MAYO V Cork: P. Burke; K. Mortimer, D. Heaney; G. Ruane, N. Connelly, J. Nallen, A. Higgins;. D. Tieran,. David Brady; C. McManamon, Trevor Mortimer, J. Gill;. S. Carolan, B. Maloney , J. Horan.

DUBLIN SF v Donegal: S. Cluxton, B. Cahill, P. Christy, C. Goggins, P. Casey, J. McGee, P. Andrews, D. Homan, C. Whelan, C. Moran, S. Ryan, S. Connell, R. Cosgrove, A. Brogan, J. McNally.

KERRY SF v Galway: D. O’Keeffe, M. O Se, S. Moynihan, M. McCarthy, T. O Se, E. Fitzmaurice, J. Sheehan, D. O Se, D. Daly, S. O’Sullivan, E. Brosnan, L. Hassett, M.F. Rusell, D O Cinneide, C. Cooper.

SLIGO SF v Armagh: J. Curran, N. Carew, R. Clancy, P. Naughton, N. Maguire, B. Phillips, D. Durkin, P. Durcan, E. O’Hara, J. McPartland, K. Quinn, D. McGarty, D. Sloyan, M. Brehony, D. McGowan.

TYRONE MF: C Greene, D Carlin, P Armour, M McStravog, R O’Neill, J Ball, P O’Kane, M McCreesh, C Donnelly, P Early, C Bannon, D Meenan, C Shields, C Doris, D McDermott.

TIPPERARY MF: W. Rodgers, Arravale Rovers, R. Cremmins, Burgess, D. Kelly, Cappawhite, A. Hickey, Newport, N. Melbourne, Moyle Rovers, D. Morrissey, Galtee Rovers, P. Brennan, Loughmore, S. Ryan, Newport, H. Coughlan, Moyne, d. Lyons, Ballyporeen, P. Hally, Rockwell Rovers,C. O’Brien, Annacarty, I. Barnes, Commercials, M. Dillon, Fethard, S. Murphy, Kilruane. Subs to be finalised.

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: Croke ParkPlace: ThurlesPlace: CrokerPlace: TipperaryPlace: PortlaoisePlace: NavanPerson: McGeePerson: JONATHON McGEEPerson: Paul CurranPerson: Peader AndrewsPerson: Johnny CrowleyPerson: Aodán MacGearailtPerson: James NallenPerson: Padraigh NaughtonPerson: NallenPerson: NaughtonPerson: Alan RochePerson: Kieran McDonaldPerson: McDonaldPerson: Pat HolmesPerson: Niall CarewPerson: Mark CosgrovePerson: Patrick EarlyPerson: Liam DonnellyPerson: Martin CoylePerson: Damien McDermottPerson: Ciaran ShieldsPerson: Ciaran BannonPerson: Damien MeenanPerson: Colm DorisPerson: Neville MelburnePerson: Brendan HealyPerson: Stephen MurphyPerson: Paul BreenPerson: P. BurkePerson: K. MortimerPerson: D. HeaneyPerson: G. RuanePerson: N. ConnellyPerson: J. NallenPerson: A. HigginsPerson: D. TieranPerson: David BradyPerson: C. McManamonPerson: Trevor MortimerPerson: J. GillPerson: S. CarolanPerson: B. MaloneyPerson: S. CluxtonPerson: P.Person: C. GogginsPerson: P. CaseyPerson: J. McGeePerson: P. AndrewsPerson: D. HomanPerson: MoranPerson: S. RyanPerson: S. ConnellPerson: R. CosgrovePerson: A. BroganPerson: D. O’KeeffePerson: M. O SéPerson: S. MoynihanPerson: M. McCarthyPerson: T. O SePerson: E. FitzmauricePerson: J. SheehanPerson: D. Ó SéPerson: D. DalyPerson: S. O’SullivanPerson: E. BrosnanPerson: L. HassettPerson: M.F. RusellPerson: D Ó CinneidePerson: C. CooperPerson: J. CurranPerson: N. CarewPerson: R. ClancyPerson: P. NaughtonPerson: N. MaguirePerson: B. PhillipsPerson: D. DurkinPerson: P. DurcanPerson: E. O’HaraPerson: J. McPartlandPerson: K. QuinnPerson: D. McGartyPerson: D. SloyanPerson: M. BrehonyPerson: D. McGowanPerson: TyronePerson: C GreenePerson: D CarlinPerson: P ArmourPerson: M McStravogPerson: R O’NeillPerson: J BallPerson: P O’KanePerson: M McCreeshPerson: C DonnellyPerson: P EarlyPerson: C BannonPerson: D MeenanPerson: C ShieldsPerson: C DorisPerson: DPerson: W. RodgersPerson: R. CremminsPerson: BurgessPerson: D. KellyPerson: CappawhitePerson: A. HickeyPerson: MelbournePerson: D. MorrisseyPerson: P. BrennanPerson: LoughmorePerson: H. CoughlanPerson: MoynePerson: D. LyonsPerson: BallyporeenPerson: P. HallyPerson: C. O’BrienPerson: AnnacartyPerson: I. BarnesPerson: M. DillonPerson: FethardPerson: S. MurphyPerson: KilruaneEvent: Bank of Ireland All-Ireland SFC quarter-finalEvent: Leinster finalEvent: All-Ireland quarterEvent: All-Ireland MFC quarter-finalEvent: UlsterEvent: All Ireland minor football championship quarterEvent: MunsterOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: SFOrganisation: Arravale RoversOrganisation: NewportOrganisation: Moyle RoversOrganisation: Galtee RoversOrganisation: Rockwell Rovers
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd