Ardscoil Rís claim fourth Harty Cup in seven years

Ardscoil Rís (Limerick) 0-11
Our Lady’s Secondary School, Templemore (Tipperary) 0-8

Six unanswered points at the outset of the second half helped Ardscoil Rís to claim a fourth Dr Harty Cup title in seven years as they bested Our Lady’s Secondary School of Templemore at Nenagh on Saturday afternoon.

Trailing by 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time having played against the considerable breeze, the Limerick city school took control at midfield upon the resumption and were ahead by the 39th minute, a lead they would not cede.

David Fitzgerald’s 48th-minute point put them 0-11 to 0-7 in front and while Jamie Bergin’s free answered that a minute later, it would prove to be the game’s final score as late attempts at an equalising goal by Templemore fell short.

With the wind in the first half, the Tipperary school began well as two monstrous frees by centre-back Brian McGrath helped them into a 0-3 to 0-1 lead. Ardscoil weren’t using the ball well in the early stages, but gradually came into the game as Brian Ryan, Paul O’Brien and Peter Casey asserted themselves.

Fitzgerald’s excellent point on 29 had them back to within a point, 0-6 to 0-5, but Templemore wing-back Kevin Hassett’s good run ended with him slotting over for that two-point interval lead.

Two O’Brien points had Ardscoil level five minutes after the restart, with Darragh Carroll and Casey adding more before Fitzgerald opened up that four-point lead. They wouldn’t score again but that had done enough.

Scorers for Ardscoil Rís: P O’Brien 0-4 (three frees), B Ryan, P Casey, D Fitzgerald 0-2 each, D Carroll 0-1.

Scorers for Our Lady’s Secondary School: B McGrath, J Bergin 0-3 (frees) each, L Fairbrother, K Hassett 0-1 each.

ARDSCOIL RÍS (Limerick schools unless stated): S Mullane (Mungret St Paul’s); S Hogan (Adare), S Phelan (Broadford), R Connolly (Adare); J Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), N Fox (Parteen), C Houlihan (Na Piarsaigh); J Flynn (Patrickswell), B Ryan (South Liberties); C Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), P Casey (Na Piarsaigh), P O’Loughlin (Clonlara, Clare); D Carroll (Kilteely/Dromkeen), D Fitzgerald (Clonlara, Clare), P O’Brien (Mungret St Paul’s).

Subs: C Moriarty (Clonlara, Clare) for O’Loughlin (57), D Cunningham (Cratloe) for Carroll (58), J McInerney (Cratloe, Clare) for Fitzgerald, J Delahunty (Newport, Tipperary) for Hogan (both 60).

OUR LADY’S SECONDARY SCHOOL: J Kennedy (JK Brackens); C O’Meara (Drom & Inch), D Ryan (Clonakenny), E Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney); T Murphy (JK Brackens), B McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), K Hassett (Drom & Inch); D O’Shea (JK Brackens), P Cadell (JK Brackens); J Bergin (Drom & Inch), A Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney), S Nolan (Drom & Inch); P Bergin (Drom & Inch), J Kelly (Borrisoleigh), L Fairbrother (JK Brackens).

Subs: R McCormack (Borrisoleigh) for Bergin (40), C Thorpe (Drom & Inch) for Kelly (53).

Referee: N Wall (Cork).

Breaking Stories

'I channeled my inner Anthony to deliver his eulogy' - Olive Foley reveals how her family have coped since husband's death

Watch the bizarre interview that has raised a stink over who farted during a grand slam darts match

Callum Robinson wants Ireland to be more creative against Denmark

Tite pleased with Brazil’s performance in friendly win over Uruguay

Breaking Stories

Wishlist: Colour Christmas gifts for the home

Live by the book or create your own wonderful outlook

Interiors are brought back to book

Significant winter auctions of Irish art are under way

More From The Irish Examiner