McNulty to be honoured in Galway

DUNLOP National Rally champion, Tim McNulty will receive the Vard Memorial Trophy at the National Rally Championship awards ceremony at the Clayton Hotel, Galway tomorrow night.

The Meath ace took his first national title with six wins from as many events and also went on to complete an unprecedented double by winning the Tarmac series.

“I really enjoyed the national series, it has a good format and there is great camaraderie. It has the potential to become the number one championship, but its not there yet.”

Monaghan’s Sam Moffett won the Motorsport Safety Group N award and Lisburn’s Wesley Patterson captured the two-wheel drive award. Meanwhile, the presentation of awards for the British Rally Championship takes place in Manchester tomorrow night, with Marty McCormack (Draperstown)/David Moynihan (Mallow) amongst the award recipients. They won the Formula 2 category, the R3 class and the British Junior Rally Championship.

A homecoming celebration for newly-crowned FIA World Rally Academy champion Craig Breen will take place in John Roberts Square, Waterford tomorrow at 1pm. The event is being organised by the Craig Breen Supporter’s Club in conjunction with the Carrick-on-Suir Motor Club.

Following his dramatic win on Saturday last Breen, who was co-driven by Welsh ace, Gareth Roberts, travelled to Austria where he was one of 30 drivers battling for one of the 18 places in the FIA Institute — 2012 Young Driver Excellence Academy. The trials will feature driving and non-driving assessments. The FIA Institute Young Driver Excellence Academy is an initiative to develop young driver talent worldwide.

The Hewison Autotest series continues with the TDC Autotest at Mondello Park tomorrow at 10.30am. On Sunday, Mondello is also the location for the third round of the Irish Rallycross Championship and the organisers are expecting 60 competitors. At present, George Tracey (Citroen Xsara) leads Ian O’Connell (Lotus Elise). Elsewhere, series leader, James Lucey (Special) is amongst the entry for the sixth round of the Jerry Murphy R&R Tyres Munster Autocross Championship at Glasshouse, Shinrone, County Offaly at 11.30am.

The event is being organised by the Birr and District Motor Club. The Cork Motor Club’s 4x4 Production Vehicle Trial at Rockgrove, Coachford (11am) will have the one day licence system in operation.

With a record-breaking eighth world championship Sebastien Loeb has eclipsed both Michael Schumacher and motorcycle legend Valentino Rossi, both of whom have racked up seventh world titles.

“For sure I’m proud to become the most successful driver in motorsport and feel very happy,” said Loeb, who has now taken 67 wins from 151 starts in the WRC.

Meanwhile, the Citroen Total World Rally Team has announced that they have finished their collaboration with Sebastien Ogier and that Mikko Hirvonen will join the team on a two-year contract. Ogier is being tipped to join VW for their 2012 WRC bid while Estonian, Ott Tanak, is one of the drivers being mentioned to team up with Jari Matti Latvala at Ford.

On Monday, Motorsport Ireland will inform the seven drivers that were interviewed for the 2011 Billy Coleman Award yesterday whether or not they have progressed to the shortlist of three drivers. The winner will be announced at the Champions of Irish Motorsport awards luncheon in Dublin on Tuesday, December 6 next.

More in this section

ieStyle Live 2021 Logo
ieStyle Live 2021 Logo

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Discover the great outdoors on Ireland's best walking trails

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Execution Time: 0.215 s