Great Waterford soccer team deserves mention

Before any debate can take place on your columnist Liam Mackey’s suggestion that Dundalk can now be considered one the greatest teams to play in the domestic league, it is necessary to have a proper list of declared runners.

His article contains some notable omissions, especially the great Waterford team of the late 1960s-early 1970s.

The team’s record far surpasses a Shelbourne side that won successive titles.

Shamrock Rovers did win six successive FAI Cup titles in the 1964-1969 period but Waterford won four league titles in the same period including three successive titles 1968-70 and followed with two more titles in 1972 and 1973.

Victories in league competition are always considered to be a greater test of consistency than the less demanding cup competitions. The 1966 title was secured with an extraordinary run of 13 successive victories, a record that survives to the present day. No club before or since has won six titles over an eight year period.

Peter Thomas, Tommy Taylor, Alfie Hale, Johnny Matthews, Jimmy McGeough (whose arrival in Waterford kick-started the 13-game winning run), Mick Lynch, John O’Neil, Dave Kirby, Phil Buck, Denny and Peter Fitzgerald, Al Casey, Vinny Maguire, to name but a few, are iconic names that should never be forgotten when greatness is calibrated.

The pity is that the 1973 title was the last won by a Waterford team.

Dr Tom Hunt

Lynn Heights


Co Westmeath

More in this section


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox


Saturday, January 23, 2021

  • 5
  • 11
  • 15
  • 19
  • 33
  • 40
  • 8

Full Lotto draw results »