'Doctor Who' stars among winners at British National Television Awards

'Doctor Who' stars Matt Smith and Karen Gillan were both winners at the British National Television Awards tonight .

'Doctor Who' stars Matt Smith and Karen Gillan were both winners at the British National Television Awards tonight .

The pair took home the prizes for Male Drama Performance and Female Drama Performance for their roles as the Doctor and Amy Pond in the BBC One sci-fi series.

Matt beat 'Shameless' star David Threlfall, John Barrowman - who was nominated for his performance in 'Doctor Who' spin-off 'Torchwood' - and 'Doc Martin' actor Martin Clunes to the honour and paid tribute to everyone who works on the programme as he collected his statuette.

He said: "Thank you very much. What a massive honour. I'd like to thank everyone in Cardiff who make the show ... Most of all I want to thank everyone who watched, who voted and who makes the show what it is."

Karen was equally thrilled with her win at the ceremony - which was held at London's The 02 arena - and was quick to pay tribute to her co-stars and showrunner Steven Moffat as she shared her success with them.

She said: "Oh my good God! Thank you so much. This means so much to me. I'd like to thank my co-stars Matt Smith and Arthur Darvill for making 'Doctor Who' so fun. I'd like to thank Steven Moffat for his writing and generally being 'The Moff'. And my mum and dad."

Other winners at the NTAs - which are voted for by the public - included Ant and Dec, who received the Entertainment Presenter accolade, beating host Dermot O'Leary in the process, David Walliams, who was presented with the Landmark Award for his gruelling Sports Relief charity swim, and 'Downton Abbey which scooped the Drama gong.

Ant and Dec opened the ceremony by performing Nat King Cole's 'Let There Be Love' with Sir Bruce Forsyth.

'Coronation Street' beat rivals 'EastEnders' and 'Emmerdale' to win the highly coveted Serial Drama gong.

Afterwards, the ITV1 soap's producer Phil Collinson praised departing cast member Katherine Kelly - who hadn't been on hand to collect her Serial Drama Performance prize earlier in the evening - insisting the accolade was a testament to her work as Becky McDonald.

Phil told BANG Showbiz: "It's amazing to get an award. I feel so proud for all the cast who have worked so hard in Manchester. It's a great way to start the next 50 years of the show. It's the best leaving present Katherine could have asked for and this award and the ratings we've got are a real testament to her performance."

National Television Awards 2012 - full list of winners:

Entertainment Programme - 'Michael McIntyre's Comedy Roadshow'

Drama Performance (Female) - Karen Gillan, 'Doctor Who'

Comedy Panel Show - 'Celebrity Juice'

Newcomer - Jacqueline Jossa, 'EastEnders'

Landmark Award - David Walliams

Talk Show - 'Alan Carr: Chatty Man'

Drama Performance (Male) - Matt Smith, 'Doctor Who'

Entertainment Presenter - Ant & Dec

Serial Drama Performance - Katherine Kelly, 'Coronation Street'

Reality Programme - 'I'm A Celebrity... Get Me Out Of Here!'

Outstanding Contribution - Gary Barlow

Factual Programme - 'This Morning'

Drama - 'Downton Abbey'

Talent Show - 'The X Factor'

Situation Comedy- 'Outnumbered'

Special Recognition - Jonathan Ross

Serial Drama - 'Coronation Street'

More in this section

ieParenting Logo
Writers ieParenting

Our team of experts are on hand to offer advice and answer your questions here

Your digital cookbook


The best food, health, entertainment and lifestyle content from the Irish Examiner, direct to your inbox.

Sign up
Execution Time: 0.216 s