Farms vie for National Dairy Council and Kerrygold Quality Milk Awards

Fifteen dairy farms in seven counties have been shortlisted for the 2014 National Dairy Council and Kerrygold Quality Milk Awards.

The top dairy farmer is due to be announced in mid-October along with the national results. The winner will receive €5,000 and a perpetual trophy.

Six of this year’s finalists are from Co Cork with four of them representing West Cork co-ops — Anthony and Mary Beechinor, Ballinascarthy (Lisavaird), Ben Cottrell and family, Innishannon (Bandon), Helen and Caroline O’Donovan, Ballinspittle (Barryroe), and Donal and Carmel O’Connor (Drinagh).

Dairygold will be represented by Eugene M and Eugene O Lyons, Aghabullogue, and Aidan and Mary Reardon, Ballinhassig.

There are three finalists from Tipperary — Michael Crowe, Cappawhite (Tipperary Co-op), Edmund and Thomas Dwan, Bohernamona, Thurles, Centenary Co-op) and Eoin Toohey, Cloughjordan (Arrabawn).

Munster is also represented by Limerick milk suppliers Declan Murphy and family from Effin (Kerry Agribusiness), and Gerald O’Connell and family from Askeaton (Kerry Co-op).

More in this section


Keep up-to-date with all the latest developments in Farming with our weekly newsletter

Sign up
Karen Walsh

Karen Walsh

Law of the Land

News Wrap

A lunchtime summary of content highlights on the Irish Examiner website. Delivered at 1pm each day.

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd