From Wexford to Down, to win at Cork

WEXFORD-bred horses won the ridden hunter championship and the reserve honours for a Co Down exhibitor at last Sunday’s Cork Summer Show.

It was a marvellous triumph for Richard D Iggulden, who travelled from Comber in Co Down to compete at the Ballintemple showgrounds.

He took the championship with a seven-year-old chestnut gelding by Young Ozzy, bred in Camolin by Sam Woolmington.

The reserve champion was a four year old bay gelding, bred by Rosemary Skrane, in Bunclody. Patrick and Linda Downes, Cree, Kilrush, Co Clare, took the young horse championship. Seamus Lehane, Clonakilty, had the reserve champion, and he also took the two-year-old and gelding championships.

John Barrett and Sons, Togher, captured the overall dairy championship, while the overall beef championship was won by Peter and Marion O’Connell, Mallow.

The show went ahead within days of a Compulsory Purchase Order for the showgrounds at Ballintemple.

Cork City Council has moved to regain control of the site, adjacent to the Páirc Uí Chaoimh, which has been held under long-term lease by the Munster Agricultural Society. The Council will consider its development as a major amenity area in the context of a Cork Docklands plan, and to accommodate expansion of Páirc Uí Chaoimh. It is intended to continue to accommodate agricultural shows and circuses in the area.

Championships (reserve champions in brackets)


Ridden Hunter — Richard D Iggulden, Comber, Co, Down, (R D Iggulden)

Young Horse — Patrick and Linda Downes, Cree, Kilrush, Co Clare (Seamus Lehane, Clonakilty).

Gelding — Seamus Lehane

Filly - Callinafercy House Stud, Milltown, Co Kerry (Rosemarie Connors, Woodstown, Co Waterford)

Coloured — Trevor Horgan, Piltown, Co Kilkenny (P Desmond Hynes, Dripsey).

Broodmare — Denis O’ Sullivan, Clonakilty (John McCarthy, Drimoleague)

Young Pony — David Lynch (Martin O’Sullivan, Droum,Leap)

Jumper Pony — Sonya Steyn, Ballyporeen (Chloe Murphy, Ballygreene, Killaloe)

Riding Pony — Bethany Mackey, Clogheen, Co Cork (Regina Daly, Leap)

Working Hunter Pony — Lindy Nixon Grey, Rineen, Skibbereen.

Lead Rein Pony: Regina Daly (Michael Madden, Castlemartyr).


AIB Dairy Champion — John Barrett and Sons, Togher.

AIB Beef Champion — Peter and Marion O’Connell, Mallow.

Friesian — John Barrett and Sons (John Barrett and Sons).

Hereford — Albert de Cogan, Killamuckey House, Castlemartyr (Owen O’Neill, Ballincollig)

Aberdeen Angus — Albert de Cogan (F and J Appelbe, Crrigroe, Clonakilty).

Charolais — J and I Ryall, Castlemartyr (J and I Ryall).

Simmental — Peter and Marion O’Connell (William Cotter, Dripsey).

Limousin — Donal Maloney, Ardnacrusha, Co Clare (Donal Maloney).

More in this section


Keep up-to-date with all the latest developments in Farming with our weekly newsletter

Sign up

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up