New Year honour for AP McCoy and James Nesbitt

Jockey receives knighthood, while actor is awarded an OBE
New Year honour for AP McCoy and James Nesbitt

Irishmen James Nesbitt and AP McCoy were in this year’s New Year’s Honours List in Britain.

Actor Nesbitt, who received an OBE for services to acting, and for helping families affected by the Troubles in the North, said: “I’ve been very blessed with my work and very blessed to come from Northern Ireland, and for those two things to be on the citation was really rather gratifying.”

Champion jockey McCoy was knighted, while snooker supremo Ronnie O’Sullivan received an OBE.

Veteran actress Barbara Windsor said she was “so very honoured, proud and extremely humbled” to be awarded a damehood.

Fellow east Londoner turned Hollywood star, Idris Elba, said receiving an OBE made him “beyond proud”.

Actress Sian Phillips was also made a dame, while Imelda Staunton received a CBE, and actor David Oyelowo an OBE.

Former motorsports star John Surtees and footballers Denis Law and Francis Lee received CBEs, and two-time Tour de France-winning cyclist Chris Froome got an OBE.

Sports commentator Sue Barker received an OBE, while sports broadcaster Jacqui Oatley, the first female commentator on Match Of The Day, was awarded an MBE.

Blur singer Damon Albarn received an OBE, while an MBE was awarded to Clifford Price — more commonly known as Goldie — for his contribution to music and film and his work with charities.

The drum and bass star said he “ran to the arts, because the arts are the one thing that would never abandon me”.

The honours list has been beset by leaks, with Windsor and McCoy named days ago, while controversy over a knighthood for Lynton Crosby, David Cameron’s general election strategist, also hit the headlines.

Several business people were honoured, including damehoods for easyJet chief executive Carolyn McCall and Natalie Massenet, the founder of high fashion website Net-A-Porter. Ann Summers chief executive Jacqueline Gold also received the CBE.

Michael Jacobs, clinical lead in infectious diseases at the Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust, who treated nurses Pauline Cafferkey, Will Pooley, and Anna Cross when they had ebola, received a knighthood.

CBEs also went to Timothy Brooks, head of the Rare and Imported Pathogens Laboratory at Public Health England, and Christopher Bulstrode, emeritus professor at Green Templeton College, Oxford, and volunteer for Doctors of the World, while Grace Jackson, Sierra Leone programme manager at the Department for International Development, got an OBE.

In the New Year’s Honour list for 2016, 1,196 people receive an award.

More in this section


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox