Benayoun shoots down Havant after Cup scare

Non-league Havant and Waterlooville gave Liverpool a scare – but a hat-trick from Yossi Benayoun ended their FA Cup dreams as the home side ran out 5-2 winners at Anfield.

Non-league Havant and Waterlooville gave Liverpool a scare – but a hat-trick from Yossi Benayoun ended their FA Cup dreams as the home side ran out 5-2 winners at Anfield.

The Blue Square Conference South side, ranked 123 places below their Barclays Premier League opponents, took a surprise lead in the eighth minute after Richard Pacquette headed Mo Harkin’s corner past goalkeeper Charles Itandje.

The lead lasted 19 minutes before Liverpool midfielder Lucas Leiva levelled with a 25-yard strike which flew past Hawks goalkeeper Kevin Scriven and into the top-right corner of the net.

Remarkably, Havant took the lead again in the 31st minute when Alfie Potter’s shot was directed past Itandje by Martin Skrtel.

Benayoun equalised before half-time before completing his hat-trick with goals in the 56th and 59th minute. Peter Crouch added a fifth with a neat close-range finish in 90th minute.

Kevin Hawley grabbed a brace to help Coca-Cola Championship Preston cause an upset with a 4-1 win over Premier League Derby at Pride Park

Simon Whaley added a second before Robert Earnshaw pulled one back with a neat finish in the second half but Alan Irvine’s side restored their three-goal lead with a late penalty from Neil Mellor.

Arsenal striker Emmanuel Adebayor ended Kevin Keegan’s hopes of silverware this season as he scored twice to give his side a 3-0 win over Newcastle.

The Togo international scored the Gunners’ 100th goal at the Emirates Stadium in the 51st minute and added a second in the 83rd minute before Nicky Butt headed past his own goalkeeper a minute from time.

Wolves booked their place in the fifth round with a convincing 4-1 win over Championship rivals Watford at Vicarage Road.

Two goals from Andy Keogh, one from Jay Bothroyd and a strike from Stephen Elliott gave Mick McCarthy’s side a place in the next round. John-Joe O’Toole netted a consolation goal for the Hornets.

Portsmouth came from a goal down to defeat battling Plymouth 2-1 at Fratton Park.

Chris Clark put Argyle ahead in the fifth minute but Lassana Diarra equalised in the 34th minute and Niko Kranjcar scored the winner moments before the break.

West Brom won 3-0 at Peterborough at London Road thanks to first-half strikes from Roman Bednar and Robert Koren and a penalty 13 minutes after the break from Kevin Phillips.

Bristol Rovers, who knocked out Fulham in the last round, claimed a narrow one-goal victory over Barnet at Underhill.

A close-range Richard Lambert header gave Rovers the lead just after the break, as Barnet were made to pay for Jason Puncheon’s penalty miss in first-half injury time.

Coventry side claimed a 2-1 win over Millwall to secure their place in the draw.

Iain Dowie’s side took the lead with a Stephen Hughes free-kick but Jay Simpson equalised for the visitors moments before the break before Michael Mifsud got the winner in the 52nd minute.

A 10th-minute header from Luke Beckett gave Huddersfield a 1-0 victory over League One rivals Oldham at Boundary Park.

League Two side Bury held managerless Southampton 71 minutes before Andrew Surman and Grzegorz Rasiak struck to put themselves in the hat for the next round.

In the day’s early kick-off Middlesbrough claimed a hard-fought 2-0 win over Mansfield thanks to a first-half strike from Dong-Gook Lee and a late own-goal from Jake Buxton.

More in this section

courtssoccerfa cupplace: anfieldplace: pride parkplace: emirates stadiumplace: vicarage roadplace: fratton parkplace: peterboroughplace: london roadplace: underhillplace: boundary parkperson: benayounperson: yossi benayounperson: richard pacquetteperson: mo harkinperson: charles itandjeperson: lucas leivaperson: kevin scrivenperson: alfie potterperson: itandjeperson: martin skrtelperson: peter crouchperson: kevin hawleyperson: simon whaleyperson: robert earnshawperson: alan irvineperson: neil mellorperson: emmanuel adebayorperson: kevin keeganperson: nicky buttperson: andy keoghperson: jay bothroydperson: stephen elliottperson: mick mccarthyperson: john-joe o’tooleperson: chris clarkperson: lassana diarraperson: niko kranjcarperson: roman bednarperson: robert korenperson: kevin phillipsperson: richard lambertperson: jason puncheonperson: iain dowieperson: stephen hughesperson: jay simpsonperson: michael mifsudperson: luke beckettperson: andrew surmanperson: grzegorz rasiakperson: dong-gook leeperson: jake buxtonevent: fa cupevent: non-league havantevent: coca-event: championshipevent: premier league derbyorganisation: havantorganisation: waterloovilleorganisation: liverpoolorganisation: premier leagueorganisation: hawksorganisation: colaorganisation: arsenalorganisation: newcastleorganisation: togoorganisation: gunners’organisation: wolvesorganisation: watfordorganisation: hornetsorganisation: portsmouthorganisation: plymouthorganisation: argyleorganisation: west bromorganisation: bristol roversorganisation: fulhamorganisation: barnetorganisation: roversorganisation: coventryorganisation: millwallorganisation: huddersfieldorganisation: league oneorganisation: oldhamorganisation: buryorganisation: southamptonorganisation: middlesbroughorganisation: mansfield

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox