Kerry secure Kennedy Cup crown

Kerry beat the Dublin District Schoolboy League (DDSL) 1-0 in yesterday’s SFAI Kennedy Cup final at the University of Limerick.

Kerry secure Kennedy Cup crown

The DDSL, aiming for their 13th title this century, had the lion’s share of possession, but Kerry struck just before the break via Dylan Murphy.

The Kerry defence, which only conceded one goal in the tournament, had heroes in captain David Dineen, Paddy O’Rourke and keeper Alex O’Connor. DDSL continued to press forward after the break. Clarke sent a dangerous cross across the six-yard box and Kerry defender James Rusk hacked a Nathan Collins effort off the line. At the other end, Paul O’Shea fired an effort just wide but it did not matter as the cup goes to Munster for the first time since Limerick District won it in 2000.

Cork secured the SFAI Kennedy Shield after a 4-0 win over Mayo. Goals in either half from Adam Idah, Craig McSweeney, Oran Daly and Scott Philpott, with a stunning long-range free kick, secured the trophy for the Leesiders.

KERRY (squad):

M Kelliher (Killarney Celtic), D Rogers (Traless Dynamos), R O’Shea (Killorglin), J Rusk (St Brendan’s Pk), D Dineen (Killarney Celtic), D Murphy (Mastergeeha), P O’Sullivan (Killarney Celtic), P D’Arcy (Killarney Celtic), R Kelliher (Killarney Celtic), S Vasiu (St Brendan’s Pk), D Lyne (Killarney Celtic), P O’Shea (Mastergeeha), P O’Rourke (St Brendans Pk), C Kane (Camp Juniors), M Lenihan (Killarney Celtic), J Sheehan (St Brendan’s Pk), C Ryan (Killarney Celtic), D O’Neill (Killorglin), D McKenna (Listowel Celtic), A O’Connor (Killorglin).


Clarke, Madden, Ledwidge, O’Sullivan, Collins, Knight, Moylan (O’Reilly 40), Grant, Clarke (Troy 57), Thompson, McGrath (Devoy 63) Referee: P O’Connor (Kilkenny).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox