Geoghegan new Shels manager

FORMER Shelbourne striker Stephen Geoghegan was reportedly last night installed as the new manager striker Stephen Geoghegan was reportedly last night installed as the new manager.

Geoghegan also a prolific frontman with Shamrock Rovers, was previously managing in non-league football. He has been appointed ahead of other rumoured candidates Pat Dolan, Jim Crawford and Andy King.

Meanwhile, his predecessor in Drumcondra, Pat Fenlon was last night named the eircom/Soccer Writers’

Association of Ireland 2006 Personality Of the Year in recognition of his achievement in leading Shels to the league title — his third as manager of the club and arguably his most admirable in light of financial problems which Shels suffered.

After pipping Derry City to the post, Fenlon swapped Tolka Park for The Brandywell.

Former Derry boss Stephen Kenny was also in the running along with Cork City’s Roy O’Donovan,

Shamrock Rovers boss Pat Scully and Shels and Derry’s respective captains, Owen Heary and Peter Hutton.

New Cardiff City goalkeeper David Forde claimed the eircom/SWAI Goalkeeper of the Year for his performances with Derry City in 2006, beating off previous winner Mick Devine of Cork City and St Patrick’s Athletic’s Barry Ryan.

Given the SWAI annual banquet was being staged in Dundalk, it was fitting that local man Des Casey was the recipient of the Special Merit Award.

A former president of the FAI, he became the first Irishman elected to UEFA’s executive committee in 1994 and, six years later, was elected vice president of UEFA.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox