Team news: South Africa international returns from 'retirement' to face much-changed Munster

Goosen played his last game in December 2016, when he controversially announced his retirement from playing, aged 24, to become a "commercial director".

Team news: South Africa international returns from 'retirement' to face much-changed Munster

By Stephen Barry

Munster have announced nine changes to their side for the second game of their trip to South Africa.

Simon Zebo, Andrew Conway and Darren Sweetnam are added to the back-three for tomorrow's PRO14 clash with the Cheetahs.

Sammy Arnold returns to the centre alongside try-scorer against the Southern Kings Dan Goggin. JJ Hanrahan moves from full-back to out-half, with James Hart continuing at scrum-half.

Peter O’Mahony, Jack O’Donoghue and Robin Copeland form a new back-row, with Brian Scott and Billy Holland also added to the pack. Niall Scannell, John Ryan and Gerbrandt Grobler complete the line-up.

Former South Africa and Racing 92 out-half Johan Goosen will make his PRO14 debut for their opponents the Cheetahs on Friday.

Goosen played his last game in December 2016, when he controversially announced his retirement from playing, aged 24, to become a "commercial director". His club, Racing, launched legal proceedings at the time for breach of contract.

Munster: Simon Zebo; Andrew Conway, Sammy Arnold, Dan Goggin, Darren Sweetnam; JJ Hanrahan, James Hart; Brian Scott, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Gerbrandt Grobler, Billy Holland; Peter O'Mahony (C), Jack O'Donoghue, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Dave Kilcoyne, Stephen Archer, Dave O'Callaghan, Conor Oliver, Conor Murray, Ian Keatley, Rory Scannell.

Toyota Cheetahs: (15-9) Clayton Blommetjies, William Small-Smith, Francois Venter (C), Niel Marais, Sibahle Maxwane, Johan Goosen, Tian Meyer; (1-8): Ox Nche, Torsten van Jaarsveld, Johan Coetzee, Carl Wegner, Reniel Hugo, Paul Schoeman, Oupa Mohoje, Uzair Cassiem

Replacements: Jacques du Toit, Charles Marais, Tom Botha, Rynier Bernardo, Henco Venter, Zee Mkhabela, Clinton Swart, AJ Coertzen.

Ulster have made four changes to the team while defeated Edinburgh as they welcome the Ospreys to Kingspan Stadium tomorrow.

Props Callum Black and Ross Kane are given starts either side of captain Rory Best in the front row.

Kieran Treadwell is drafted in to partner Iain Henderson, while Sean Reidy comes into the back-row at at number 8.

The backline remains in situ, with Darren Cave, who signed a one-year contract extension today, in the centre.

Ulster: (15-9): C Piutau, L Ludik, D Cave, S McCloskey, J Stockdale, J McPhillips, J Cooney; (1-8): C Black, R Best (Capt), R Kane, K Treadwell, I Henderson, M Rea, J Deysel, S Reidy;

Replacements: R Herring, A Warwick, T O’Toole, A O’Connor, N Timoney, D Shanahan, L Marshall, T Bowe.

Bundee Aki is back in the Connacht team for tomorrow's PRO14 clash with Glasgow in Scotland.

Ultan Dillan and Quinn Roux continue their partnership in the second-row, while Darragh Leader comes in at full-back.

Connacht: (15-9) Darragh Leader, Niyi Adeolokun, Bundee Aki, Peter Robb, Matt Healy, Jack Carty, Kieran Marmion, (1-8) Denis Buckley, Tom McCartney, Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, Quinn Roux, Eoghan Masterson, Jarrad Butler (Capt), Eoin McKeon.

Replacements: Shane Delahunt, Peter McCabe, Conor Carey, Gavin Thornbury, John Muldoon, Caolin Blade, Tom Farrell, Stacey Ili.

More in this section

CourtsRugbyHeathrowPlace: South AfricaPlace: Kingspan StadiumPlace: ScotlandPerson: GoosenPerson: Stephen Barry MunsterPerson: Simon ZeboPerson: Andrew ConwayPerson: Darren SweetnamPerson: Sammy ArnoldPerson: Dan GogginPerson: JJ HanrahanPerson: James HartPerson: Peter O’MahonyPerson: Jack O’DonoghuePerson: Robin CopelandPerson: Brian ScottPerson: Billy HollandPerson: Niall ScannellPerson: John RyanPerson: Gerbrandt GroblerPerson: Johan GoosenPerson: Peter O'MahonyPerson: Jack O'DonoghuePerson: Rhys MarshallPerson: Dave KilcoynePerson: Stephen ArcherPerson: Dave O'CallaghanPerson: Conor OliverPerson: Conor MurrayPerson: Ian KeatleyPerson: Rory ScannellPerson: Clayton BlommetjiesPerson: William Small-SmithPerson: Francois VenterPerson: Niel MaraisPerson: Sibahle MaxwanePerson: Tian MeyerPerson: Ox NchePerson: Torsten van JaarsveldPerson: Johan CoetzeePerson: Carl WegnerPerson: Reniel HugoPerson: Paul SchoemanPerson: Oupa MohojePerson: Uzair CassiemPerson: Jacques du ToitPerson: Charles MaraisPerson: Tom BothaPerson: Rynier BernardoPerson: Henco VenterPerson: Zee MkhabelaPerson: Clinton SwartPerson: AJ CoertzenPerson: Callum BlackPerson: Ross KanePerson: Rory BestPerson: Kieran TreadwellPerson: Iain HendersonPerson: Sean ReidyPerson: Darren CavePerson: C PiutauPerson: L LudikPerson: D CavePerson: S McCloskeyPerson: J StockdalePerson: J McPhillipsPerson: J CooneyPerson: C BlackPerson: R BestPerson: R KanePerson: K TreadwellPerson: I HendersonPerson: M ReaPerson: J DeyselPerson: S ReidyPerson: R HerringPerson: A WarwickPerson: T O’ToolePerson: A O’ConnorPerson: N TimoneyPerson: D ShanahanPerson: L MarshallPerson: T BowePerson: Bundee AkiPerson: Ultan DillanPerson: Quinn RouxPerson: DarraghPerson: Niyi AdeolokunPerson: Peter RobbPerson: Matt HealyPerson: Jack CartyPerson: Kieran MarmionPerson: Denis BuckleyPerson: Tom McCartneyPerson: Finlay BealhamPerson: Ultan DillanePerson: Eoghan MastersonPerson: Jarrad ButlerPerson: Eoin McKeonPerson: Shane DelahuntPerson: Peter McCabePerson: Conor CareyPerson: Gavin ThornburyPerson: John MuldoonPerson: Caolin BladePerson: Tom FarrellPerson: Stacey IliEvent: PRO14Organisation: CheetahsOrganisation: Southern KingsOrganisation: South AfricaOrganisation: Racing 92Organisation: RacingOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: ToyotaOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: EdinburghOrganisation: OspreysOrganisation: Connacht
Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd