By Simon Lewis, Johannesburg
Despite disappointment at CJ Stander's guilty verdict and one-match suspension, Ireland seem unlikely to appeal the ban that will keep him out of this Saturday's second Test against South Africa.
The Ireland flanker received a straight red card in the 23rd minute of his side's 26-20 victory over the Springboks at Newlands in Cape Town last Saturday after a collision with South Africa fly-half Pat Lambie following an attempted charge down.
Lambie was concussed when Stander's hip connected with his head, he left the field on a stretcher, and will miss this Saturday's match at Ellis Park.
So too will Stander, the South African-born Munster forward having learned his fate following an 11.5 hour hearing that had commenced in Cape Town on Sunday and concluded in Johannesburg on Monday night.
The lengthy hearing saw Stander miss a team walk-through on Monday as preparations began for a potentially series-deciding showdown at altitude but played a part in Tuesday morning's full training session, although it is understood he ran as an opposition player.
With the IRFU yet to receive judicial officer Terry Willis's written judgement as of 1pm Irish time on Tuesday, with a 48-hour window to appeal triggered once it arrives, assistant coach Richie Murphy said time was against Stander playing in any case.
“Unfortunately we can’t make that decision (to appeal) yet because we haven’t received the notification,” Murphy said.
“We’re in a situation where we’re half way through the training week already. CJ hasn’t been training with the team so it’s probably a situation where it’s probably a little bit too late already.
“We’re disappointed in the verdict. It’s one of those things where a player’s got injured on the pitch and we’re disappointed for that as well, that was never the intention from CJ.
“I suppose the process that he’s gone through over the last three days has just taken forever. It’s been very slow. So, that’s something that’s probably gone against CJ at this stage.”
Murphy also reacted to the fact Stander had been cited for a dangerous tackle rather than dangerous play.
“Yeah, it seems strange to me that that was the case, but that’s what we’ve been told. Until we saw the full report I suppose it’s very difficult for us to comment on that. We were told that it was a dangerous tackle. It’s a collision, I don’t think it’s a tackle.”