Leinster flyer to debut for Ireland Women's team; U20s also named

Ireland Women's Coach Tom Tierney has named six uncapped players in their squad for their 6 Nations opener against Italy in Florence on Friday night (6pm Irish Time).

Leinster flyer to debut for Ireland Women's team; U20s also named

Ireland Women's Coach Tom Tierney has named six uncapped players in their squad for their 6 Nations opener against Italy in Florence on Friday night (6pm Irish Time).

Leinster's Hannah Tyrrell will make her debut on the wing while Sarah Mimnagh, Fiona O'Brien, Katie Norris, Katie Fitzhenry and Sene Naoupu have been named on the bench.

Up front, Gillian Bourke is named at hooker and will be joined by Ruth O'Reilly and Ailis Egan in the front row.

A familiar looking second row sees Marie Louise Reilly and Sophie Spence line up together while Paula Fitzpatrick, Claire Molloy and Heather O'Brien complete the pack.

Larissa Muldoon is named at scrum half and will be partnered at 10 by Nora Stapleton. Jackie Sheils and Jenny Murphy make up the centre partnership, with Alison Miller joining Tyrrell on the wing. The side will be captained by full back Niamh Briggs.

Tom Tierney said: "There is a natural changeover with the number of players retiring after last season, but there is a core group of senior players that are very experienced and talented. We also have a number of younger players who are very talented and have a lot of promise so it's a good mix.

"It's going to be a very tough game over in Italy, we are under no illusions, but we are going over there very confident that we will be competitive”

This game will be streamed live on www.Federugby.it and www.youtube.com/fedrugby

Ireland Women's team v Italy Women:

15 – Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian/ Munster) (Capt)

14 – Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

13 – Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

12 – Jackie Shiels (Richmond/ Exiles)

11 – Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)

10 – Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

9 – Larissa Muldoon (Skewen RFC)

1 – Ruth O'Reilly (Galwegians/ Connacht)

2 – Gillian Bourke (Olympico de Pozuelo RFC)

3 – Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

4 – Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

5 – Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

6 – Paula Fitzpatrick (St Marys/ Leinster)

7 – Claire Molloy (Bristol/ Connacht)

8 – Heather O'Brien (Highfield/ Munster)


16 – Sarah Mimnagh (Wasps/Exiles)

17 – Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemian/ Munster)

18 – Fiona O'Brien (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

19 – Orla Fitzsimons (St Marys/ Leinster)

20 – Katie Norris (Blackrock / Leinster)

21 – Tania Rosser (Blackrock/ Leinster)

22 – Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/ Leinster)

23 – Sene Naoupu (Galwegians/Connacht)

The Ireland Under-20 Team has also been named.

Head Coach, Nigel Carolan has named an experienced side with six players from last year's squad included in the starting XV to play Italy.

Up front, Oisin Heffernan will be joined by Jeremy Loughman and Zack McCall in the front row. David O'Connor and Alex Thompson are named in the second row while Lorcan Dow joins Josh Murphy and Rory Moloney at the back of the pack.

Nick McCarthy will take up the scrum half position and will partner Ross Byrne who has been named at out half. McCarthy will also captain this year's side.

Gary Ringrose who makes a return to the side from last year, will be joined by Fergal Cleary in the centre. Jack Owen and Greg O'Shea are named on the wing and Billy Dardis takes the full-back position.

Nigel Carolan said: "Any time you play an Italian side it's a fight, but it's something players will need to adapt to."

"To play the opening game away from home is always a challenge, but we are focused and are looking forward to kicking off."

Ireland Under-20 team v Italy Under-20:

15 - Billy Dardis (UCD/ Leinster)

14 - Greg O'Shea (Shannon/ Munster)

13 - Garry Ringrose (UCD/ Leinster)

12 - Fergal Cleary (Lansdowne / Leinster)

11 - Jack Owens (QUB/ Ulster)

10 - Ross Byrne (UCD / Leinster)

9 - Nick McCarthy (UCD/ Leinster) (Capt)

1 - Jeremy Loughman (UCD / Leinster)

2 - Zack McCall (QUB/Ulster)

3 - Oisin Heffernan (Terenure/Leinster)

4 - David O'Connor (St. Mary's/Leinster)

5 - Alex Thompson (QUB/Ulster)

6 - Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)

7 - Rory Moloney (Buccaneers/Connacht)

8 - Lorcan Dow (QUB/Ulster)


16 - Adam McBurney (Ballymena/Ulster)

17 - Michael Lagan (Ballymena/Ulster)

18 - Conan O'Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)

19 - Cian Romaine (Buccaneers/Connacht)

20 - Nick Timoney (St. Mary's/Leinster)

21 - Jack Cullen (Shannon/Munster)

22 - Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)

23 - Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

More in this section

CourtsRugbyHeathrowPlace: FlorencePlace: ItalyPlace: PortlaoisePerson: Tom TierneyPerson: Hannah TyrrellPerson: Sarah MimnaghPerson: Fiona O'BrienPerson: Katie NorrisPerson: Katie FitzhenryPerson: Sene NaoupuPerson: Gillian BourkePerson: Ruth O'ReillyPerson: Ailis EganPerson: Marie Louise ReillyPerson: Sophie SpencePerson: Paula FitzpatrickPerson: Claire MolloyPerson: Heather O'BrienPerson: Larissa MuldoonPerson: Nora StapletonPerson: Jackie SheilsPerson: Jenny MurphyPerson: Alison MillerPerson: TyrrellPerson: Niamh BriggsPerson: Jackie ShielsPerson: Fiona HayesPerson: Orla FitzsimonsPerson: Tania RosserPerson: Nigel CarolanPerson: Oisin HeffernanPerson: Jeremy LoughmanPerson: Zack McCallPerson: David O'ConnorPerson: Alex ThompsonPerson: Lorcan DowPerson: Josh MurphyPerson: Rory MoloneyPerson: Nick McCarthyPerson: Ross ByrnePerson: McCarthyPerson: Gary RingrosePerson: Fergal ClearyPerson: Jack OwenPerson: Greg O'SheaPerson: Billy DardisPerson: Garry RingrosePerson: Jack OwensPerson: Adam McBurneyPerson: Michael LaganPerson: Conan O'DonnellPerson: Cian RomainePerson: Nick TimoneyPerson: Jack CullenPerson: Joey CarberyOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: Ireland womenOrganisation: U20sOrganisation: ItalyOrganisation: Ireland women's teamOrganisation: UL BohemianOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: Old BelvedereOrganisation: ExilesOrganisation: Skewen RFCOrganisation: ConnachtOrganisation: Olympico de Pozuelo RFCOrganisation: St MarysOrganisation: BristolOrganisation: HighfieldOrganisation: WaspsOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: Ireland Under-20 teamOrganisation: Italy UnderOrganisation: UCDOrganisation: ShannonOrganisation: LansdowneOrganisation: QUBOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: TerenureOrganisation: St. Mary'sOrganisation: BuccaneersOrganisation: BallymenaOrganisation: NUIG

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox

Execution Time: 0.234 s