Henshaw and McKeon back for Connacht

The Connacht team to face Edinburgh in tomorrow's RaboDirect PRO12 clash at Murrayfield welcome Robbie Henshaw and Eoin McKeon back.

The Connacht team to face Edinburgh in tomorrow's RaboDirect PRO12 clash at Murrayfield welcome Robbie Henshaw and Eoin McKeon back.

Head Coach Pat Lam has made six changes to the team that lined out against Scarlets last weekend.

Irish international Henshaw returns to the mix and starts at full back against the Scottish side. Henshaw is joined in the back three with Connacht's record try scorer Fionn Carr and last week's try scorer Matt Healy. Former Scottish international Dan Parks has been named at outhalf.

Up front, Ronan Loughney starts at loosehead in place of the injured Brett Wilkinson. Mick Kearney has been handed his first start of the season after coming off the bench in the last two PRO12 games. At 6'5", the 22-year-old joins skipper Craig Clarke in the second row.

McKeon returns to the side after missing three months due to injury. The back rower, who played 80 minutes for club side Buccaneers last weekend, starts at Number 8.

Prop Denis Buckley is named on the replacements bench which also includes forward John Muldoon on his return from injury. Scrumhalf Frank Murphy, who played his first minutes of senior rugby in over a year last weekend, is also included.

Lam said: "We know winning at this level comes down to fine margins which has been frustrating for all of us so far this season. But we are determined to capitalise on every opportunity we create to give us a chance of a much needed win here.

"We face another challenge away from home tomorrow. This season Edinburgh have proven a strong side who are tough to beat at home. They've won their last three games at Murrayfield, including an excellent Heineken Cup win over Munster.

"Our squad has been boosted by the return of Robbie (Henshaw) and Eoin (McKeon) while John (Muldoon) passed a late fitness test which sees him named on the bench. We need to deliver a performance that gives us every chance of getting the result."

Connacht v Edinburgh:

15. Robbie Henshaw

14. Fionn Carr

13. Eoin Griffin

12. Dave McSharry

11. Matt Healy

10. Dan Parks

9. Kieran Marmion

1. Ronan Loughney

2. Sean Henry

3. Nathan White

4. Mick Kearney

5. Craig Clarke (captain)

6. Aly Muldowney

7. Jake Heenan

8. Eoin McKeon


16. Jason Harris-Wright

17. Denis Buckley

18. Rodney Ah You

19. Michael Swift

20. John Muldoon

21. Frank Murphy

22. Craig Ronaldson

23. Gavin Duffy

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox