Cork Con’s Conor Kindregan scoops Player of the Year award

Cork Constitution’s Conor Kindregan was last night named as the Ulster Bank Player of the Year for Division 1A, cushioning the blow of losing the final to Clontarf.

Cork Con’s Conor Kindregan scoops Player of the Year award

In total, 12 players were recognised at the Ulster Bank League awards at Aviva Stadium, with five winners coming from Munster clubs, while Cork man and Lansdowne out-half Scott Deasy scooped the award for Division 1A’s top kicker.

Kindregan, who has been involved with Connacht in the past, may well be attracting the eyes of the provinces once again after an impressive season in the second row, as Cork Con made it back to the All-Ireland League final for the first time since 2011.

Kindregan saw off competition from Leinster and Clontarf winger Mick McGrath and Young Munster hooker Ger Slattery and received his award from Ireland coach Joe Schmidt.

However, McGrath did not go home empty handed as he won the top try scorer award for Division 1A for the third time in four.

McGrath scored 13 tries in the regular season and then added another two across the semi-finals and final of the competition.

It was a memorable night for Clontarf, who were rewarded for their fine season with three awards on the night.

Joey Carbery was named Young Player of the Year for Division 1A after the Leinster academy out-half backed up a terrific season with a man-of-the-match performance against Con in the final at Aviva Stadium.

The New Zealand-born Ireland Under-20 player was nominated alongside UCD’s Peader Timmins and Young Munster’s Gearoid Lyons.

In addition, Andy Wood, the long-serving Clontarf chief, won the Coach of the Year award ahead of Young Munster’s David Corkery and UCD’s Noel McNamara.

Outside of Kindregan’s success, there were awards for players at four other Munster clubs. UCC scrum-half Charlie O’Regan won the judges’ nod for his performances in Division 2A, Highfield out-half Paddy O’Toole was presented with the award for Division 2B while Brendan Guilfoyle’s performances in the Old Crescent back row were recognised in Division 2C.

Young Munster second row Sean Duggan won the Provincial Player of the Year award for Munster, which was voted on by the public.

In Division 1B, the incredible achievement by Dublin University to earn a place in the top flight for next season helped scrum-half Angus Lloyd to scoop the award over Sean Kearns of St Mary’s and Roger McBurney of Ballymena.

In the other provincial awards, Navan’s Brian McKeever won the award for Leinster, Aaron Cairns of Ballynahinch topped the polls in Ulster and Stephen Kerins of Sligo was the pick from Connacht.

The Ulster Bank League Award winners and nominees were selected by a panel of judges, Adam Redmond, Donn O’Sullivan, Richard Mulligan and Nicky Comyn. The provincial winners were decided upon by a public vote.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox