Blackrock secure four in a row

Blackrock College 8 St Michael’s College 3: A first-half Niall Comerford try was the difference at Donnybrook yesterday as Blackrock College claimed their fourth consecutive Leinster Schools’ Junior Cup title at the expense of St Michael’s College.
Blackrock secure four in a row

It had been a cagey start to the proceedings, but with 16 minutes gone the holders broke the deadlock with winger Comerford going over after finding a gap in the Michael’s defence.

Unfortunately for Comerford, an injury picked up while securing this five-pointer brought his afternoon to a premature end, and courtesy of a penalty from Michael’s centre Christopher Cosgrave in stoppage-time, the Williamstown outfit’s lead had been reduced to two points (5-3) in time for the interval.

However, following a routine place-kick three minutes after the restart by David Fitzgibbon, ‘Rock restored their five-point cushion.

Cosgrave had an ideal opportunity to add his tally on 40 minutes, but although he produced a firm strike from 35 metres, his second effort at goal drifted pass the left-hand post.

This was a let-off for Blackrock, but with captain Gavin Jones leading by example, they eventually sealed their 50th crown.

Scorers for Blackrock College:

N Comerford try, D Fitzgibbon pen.

Scorers for St Michael’s College:

C Cosgrave pen.


R Barron; N Comerford, T D’Arcy, G Jones, B White; D Fitzgibbon, C Rolland; D McKeon, B Wallace, L Mion; J Corless, C Duffy; S O’Brien, J Loscher, E Brennan.


R O’Farrell for Comerford (18), K McQuaid for O’Brien (h-t), T Handrick for McKeon (58).


M O’Brien; A Smith, C Cosgrave, C McGettigan, Z Harrison; N Carroll, R Gilsenan; J Boyle, L Barron, J Toland; J Fish, L Dunne; W Hickey, M Hernan, B Gannon.


H McGovern for Toland (34).


G Glennon (LRR).

More in this section

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd