Junior Rugby Focus: Stephen Hayes pounces as Galbally advance to cup quarter-finals

Galbally caused the shock of the weekend as they beat Clanwilliam in the Bank of Ireland Munster Junior Cup.

Junior Rugby Focus: Stephen Hayes pounces as Galbally advance to cup quarter-finals

In a thrilling game at Galbally, the home side won 8-3. Sean Bourke put Galbally ahead with a drop goal 15 minutes from time. Niall Leahy levelled with a penalty two minutes from the end of normal time but in added time, Stephen Hayes’s try sent Galbally into the quarter-finals.

A try from Derek Houlihan converted by John Sheehan had Highfield 7-0 ahead away to Kilfeacle at half-time. The Tipperary side rallied after the break and tries from Tom Doyle, Shane Looby, and JJ Cooney and two penalties and a conversion by Gavin Heuston saw Kilfeacle advance to an away quarter-final with Young Munster.

Young Munster defeated Thurles 23-17. Tries from Peter Meyer and Michael Madden both converted by Paul Downes gave the Limerick side a 14-7 half-time lead. Two penalties from Downes extended the visitors’ lead, but two tries from Owen O’Dwyer and one by Aidan Burke and a John Lillis penalty kept Thurles in the game.

Cashel followed up their win over Shannon in the last round with another dramatic performance as they beat UCC 18-17 at the Mardyke. Chris O’Donnell and Brendan Crosse were Cashel’s try scorers, Conor Holland kicked a drop goal and Ryan O’Donnell added a conversion and a penalty. Emmet McCarthy and Eoin Perry replied with tries for UCC and Ian O’Donoghue converted both and also added a penalty.

Cashel will now face Richmond in the last eight after the Limerick side defeated Old Crescent 16-7. Paul McNamara gave Crescent the lead with a try which Padraig Quinn converted. Richmond hit back with three penalties from Brian Mullins and a conversion of a Tom Madden try.

First Division leaders Clonmel won 30-12 at Third Division leaders Youghal. Ronan Crosse scored two tries for Clonmel and Luke Hogan and Conor Tobin got one each. Conor Cooney kicked two conversions and two penalties. Jonathan Ormonde and Alan Frahill O’Connor replied with tries for Youghal and Keith McCarthy added a conversion.

Old Christians defeated Dungarvan 59-14. The winners had tries from John Purcell (2), Alan O’Connell, Aidan Weir, Niall McCarthy, Sean Meaney, Ryan O’Connell, and Scott Vickery. Meaney kicked seven conversions and a penalty. Dan Slevin and David Hickey replied with tries for Dungarvan and Hickey converted both.

Skibbereen ran in five tries in a 44-0 home win over Waterford City. Richie Burns (2), Gavin Coombes, Kieran Shannon, and Mattie Walsh were Skibb’s try scorers. Denis McCarthy kicked five conversions and three penalties.

Cobh Pirates took a big step to promotion from Division Two beating Ballincollig 19-8. Dave McAuliffe, Alan Langford, and Jack Hickey scored tries for Cobh and Eamon Ronan kicked two conversions. Danny Gleeson scored a try for Ballincollig and Charlie Boland added a conversion.

Castleisland beat Mallow 11-10. Matthew Ahern scored a try for the Kerry side and Willie Casey kicked two penalties. Hugh Barry replied with a try for Mallow converted by Luke O’Brien and Kieran Willis kicked a penalty.

Killorglin kept their hopes of promotion from Division Three alive with a 22-0 win over Bantry Bay. Brian Hayes, Kyle Griffin, and Tony Lynch scored tries for the winners and Luke O’Shea kicked two conversions and a penalty.

In the Munster Junior Plate Muskerry defeated Midleton 34-12 while Waterpark were 14-0 winners at Charleville.

More in this section

CourtsRugbyPlace: GalballyPlace: MardykePlace: CharlevillePerson: Stephen HayesPerson: GalballyPerson: Sean BourkePerson: Niall LeahyPerson: Derek HoulihanPerson: John SheehanPerson: Tom DoylePerson: Shane LoobyPerson: JJ CooneyPerson: Gavin HeustonPerson: Peter MeyerPerson: Michael MaddenPerson: Paul DownesPerson: DownesPerson: Owen O’DwyerPerson: Aidan BurkePerson: John LillisPerson: Chris O’DonnellPerson: Brendan CrossePerson: Conor HollandPerson: Ryan O’DonnellPerson: Emmet McCarthyPerson: Eoin PerryPerson: Ian O’DonoghuePerson: Paul McNamaraPerson: Pádraig QuinnPerson: Brian MullinsPerson: Tom MaddenPerson: Ronan CrossePerson: ClonmelPerson: Luke HoganPerson: Conor TobinPerson: Conor CooneyPerson: Jonathan OrmondePerson: Alan Frahill O’ConnorPerson: Keith McCarthyPerson: John PurcellPerson: Alan O’ConnellPerson: Aidan WeirPerson: Niall McCarthyPerson: Sean MeaneyPerson: Ryan O’ConnellPerson: Scott VickeryPerson: MeaneyPerson: Dan SlevinPerson: David HickeyPerson: HickeyPerson: SkibbereenPerson: Richie BurnsPerson: Gavin CoombesPerson: Kieran ShannonPerson: Mattie WalshPerson: SkibbPerson: Denis McCarthyPerson: Dave McAuliffePerson: Alan LangfordPerson: Jack HickeyPerson: Eamon RonanPerson: Danny GleesonPerson: Charlie BolandPerson: MallowPerson: Matthew AhernPerson: Willie CaseyPerson: Hugh BarryPerson: Luke O’BrienPerson: Kieran WillisPerson: KillorglinPerson: Brian HayesPerson: Kyle GriffinPerson: Tony LynchPerson: Luke O’SheaEvent: Bank of Ireland Munster Junior CupEvent: Munster Junior PlateOrganisation: ClanwilliamOrganisation: HighfieldOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: KilfeacleOrganisation: Young MunsterOrganisation: ThurlesOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: CashelOrganisation: ShannonOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: RichmondOrganisation: Old CrescentOrganisation: CrescentOrganisation: ClonmelOrganisation: Old ChristiansOrganisation: DungarvanOrganisation: Waterford CityOrganisation: Cobh PiratesOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: CobhOrganisation: CastleislandOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: Bantry BayOrganisation: MuskerryOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: Waterpark

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox