St Michael’s march on to semi-finals as Jack Kelly rips Terenure College apart

St Michael’s College 29 Terenure College 14: Full-back Jack Kelly was in superb form at Donnybrook yesterday as St Michael’s College sent out a major statement of intent against Terenure College in the first quarter-final of the Leinster Schools Senior Cup.
St Michael’s march on to semi-finals as Jack Kelly rips Terenure College apart

Michael’s broke the deadlock with a spectacular try on the right-hand side from captain Kelly, and the Ailesbury Road outfit enhanced their superiority with a well-worked Barry Fitzpatrick five-pointer on 12 minutes.

‘Nure were struggling to cope with the pace and power of their south Dublin rivals, and they subsequently conceded a third try to Michael’s inside centre Ian O’Kelly. It was already looking extremely ominous for the 10-time champions, and the outstanding Kelly dived under the posts at the end of a blistering run for his second try on the stroke of 20 minutes.

‘Nure finally opened their account with a hard-earned converted try by lock Adam Melia just shy of the half-hour mark, but Michael’s still held a commanding 24-7 lead at the interval.

‘Nure did showcase a commendable fighting spirit when the action resumed, but thanks to a fifth Michael’s try from James Hickey 12 minutes into the half, the outcome was placed beyond any doubt. Terenure did hit back with a second touchdown from prop Jack Boyden, but it wasn’t enough to deny St Michael’s a last four place.

Scorers for St Michael’s:

J Kelly 2 tries, B Fitzpatrick, I O’Kelly, J Hickey try each, H Byrne 2 cons.

Scorers for Terenure College:

A Melia, J Boyden try each, M Fabian 2 cons.


J Kelly’ M Heaney, J Hickey, I O’Kelly, C Carey; H Byrne, T Killeen; R Kelleher, S Judge, S Griffin; R Baird, J Dunne; O Dowling, S Penny, B Fitzpatrick.


J O’Loughlin for Carey (40), D Ryan for Byrne, M O’Donohoe for Griffin (both 44), P O’Beirne for Killeen (52), M Kennedy for Judge, L Duffy for Kelleher (both 63), A Courtney for Dunne (64), M Roche for Baird (66).


J Murphy; C Collins, S Barry, T O’Donoghue, Z Vaughan; M Kirwan, M Fabian; J Boyden, J Henry-Hayes, S Collins; R Byrne, A Melia; J Clarkin, C O’Sullivan, J Dignam.


J O’Hare for Byrne (4), J Cadell for Clarkin (34), C Ashmore for C Collins (48), S Patchell for S Collins (51), C Cahill for Fabian (58), H O’Neill for Henry-Hayes, R McGrath for Melia (both 63).


B MacNiece (LRR).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox