London Scottish edge Munster in British and Irish Cup thriller

London Scottish 27 Munster A 25: London Scottish opened their British and Irish Cup campaign with a thrilling 27-25 win over Munster ‘A’ at the Athletic Ground.
London Scottish edge Munster in British and Irish Cup thriller

The Scots scored four tries on their way to a bonus-point win, in a match that exploded into life in the second half.

Lee Millar scored the first try of the evening after just six minutes. Robbie Fergusson’s inside ball allowed the centre to run through and score to give the Scots the ideal start.

Munster woke up midway through the first half, and scored just before half-time to level the scores. Dan Goggin drove over from close range after a period of sustained pressure for the visitors. That was to be the last score of the opening 40 minutes, with the sides going down the tunnel at 8-8.

David Johnston’s penalty edged Munster ahead, before a frantic final 20 minutes saw Scottish take a decisive lead.

Scottish captain Freddie Clarke drove over the line from a rolling maul to put the Scots 13-11 ahead, but Munster responded straight away.

David Johnston was able to evade the defence from close range to put the visitors back in front, but just four minutes later, another Scottish try saw the lead change hands again.

Chevvy Pennycook capitalised on another rolling maul to drive over, and Peter Lydon’s conversion edged Scottish 20-18 ahead.

Andrew Turner sealed the victory in the corner with four minutes to go, the winger darted over in the corner, and with Lydon’s excellent touchline conversion, the Scots extended their advantage to 27-18.

Dan Goggin scored his second try of the night to bring Munster back to within a score, but they were beaten by the clock to give London Scottish a valuable 27-25 win.

British & Irish Cup Pool 3

London Scottish:

Tries: Millar, Clarke, Pennycook, Turner. Cons: Lydon 2. Pens: Grove.

Munster A:

Tries: Goggin 2, D. Johnston. Cons: D. Johnston 2. Pens: B. Johnston, D. Johnston.

London Scottish:

Morris, Turner, Fergusson, Millar, Mantella, Grove, Calder, Gibbons, Cherry, Shields, Carrick-Smith, Bartle, Chisholm, Pennycook, Clarke.

Munster A:

D. Johnston, Fitzgerald, D’Arcy, Bohane, R. O’Mahony, B. Johnston, Williams, L. O’Connor, N. Scannell, Sagario, McCarthy, Holland, Coghlan, Doyle, S. Buckley.



More in this section

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd