Impressive Munster A overpower Eagles

Munster A 33 Connacht Eagles 13: Munster A showed flashes of brilliance during their comprehensive win over the Connacht Eagles at Thomond Park yesterday.

By half-time Munster led 14-13, despite falling behind to a 17th minute penalty kicked by Conor McKeon.

The lead lasted a mere three minutes as JJ Hanrahan timed his pass nicely to send Rory Scannell over for the first of five Munster tries.

McKeon kicked a second penalty for Connacht and also converted a try by Niyi Adeloukun who capitalised on a sloppy bit of Munster defence. But Sean Dougal then went over for Munster’s second try with Hanrahan adding the conversion.

Four players, three from Munster, had to be replaced due to injury in the opening half.

The best try of the game came after 49 minutes. Munster moved the ball wide inside their own half. Conway, Luke O’Dea and Hanrahan were all involved before Ivan Dineen raced clear from 40 metres. Hanrahan again converted.

Two minutes later the game was over as a contest when Andrew Conway showed great pace after another splendid movement.

Then replacement, James Cronin touched down at the end to make it a very satisfactory afternoon for Mick O’Driscoll’s side.

With so many replacements coming and going for either side, the second half became a little disjointed. Munster will be pleased with the backline work of Hanrahan, Darren Sweetnam and Neil Cronin while Frank Bradshaw Ryan and John Madigan did well in a forward unit that dominated.

Connacht’s bright start suggested a big performance but they fizzled out having scored all their points in the first half.

Outhalf Conor McKeon, centre Rory Parata and Jack Dineen in the pack were their pick.


D Sweetnam; A Conway, I Dineen, R Scannell, L O’Dea; JJ Hanrahan, N Cronin; L O’Connor, K O’Byrne, S Archer, J Madigan, F Bradshaw Ryan; P Butler, S Dougal, J O’Donoughue.

Replacements (all used):

N Scannell, J Cronin, P McCabe, J McSwiney, L Nicholas, J Glynn, D Goggin, D Johnston, D McCarthy.


C Gaffney; S Laydenm R Parata, P Robb, N Adeloukun; C McKeon, J Cooney; J Walshem J Dineen, S Meunargia; C Romaine, U Dillane; S McVeigh, M Kelly, D Qualter.

Replacements (all used):

J Healy, D Higgins, C O’Donnell, J Pim, C Lowndes, C Blade, A Moynihan, D Panter.


G Conway, IRFU.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox