Clonmel now hot fancies towin first title

Junior Rugby Focus

Clonmel are now in pole position to win the Munster Junior League for the first time after a second-half comeback saw them defeat Newcastle West 22-16 in the top of the table clash at the Tipperary venue yesterday.

The visitors dominated the opening half and led 10-0 at the interval with a try from John Sheehan along with a conversion and penalty by Sean Herlihy.

Alex Sheehan opened Clonmel’s account with a try two minutes after the restart which Conor Cooney converted. Herlihy kicked another penalty before Mick Barry closed the gap to a point with a second try for the hosts.

A third try after 55 minutes by Greg Carroll converted by Cooney put the home outfit in front. Cooney and Herlihy each added a penalty, before the latter was shown a red card with six minutes left.

Galbally eased their relegation worries with a surprise 12-7 away win over Clonakilty. A Stephen Cotter try converted by Joe Lee put Clon’ 7-0 ahead at the break. Tries by Kevin O’Donoghue and Tom Davern and a Sean Bourke conversion earned the Limerick side the win.

St Senan’s moved to fourth. coming from 15-0 down at half time to beat Cobh Pirates 26-21. Tries from Jack Hickey and Tom Rice and a conversion and penalty by Eoin Geary had the home side ahead at half time. Tries from Tom Cronin, Jake Egan, Emile Moffatt and Warren Kelly secured the bonus point win for the Clare side with Declan Rowe kicking three conversions.

Old Christians and Muskerry drew 20-20 at Rathcooney. John Chambers and Pat Rourke scored tries for Muskerry in the opening half, Jonathan Buckley kicked two conversions and penalties. The home side replied with tries from Paddy Naughton and Darragh Daly, Sean Meaney kicking two conversions and penalties.

Kilfeacle beat Skibbereen 11-9 with a try from Diarmuid O’Donnell and two penalties by Darren Lowery. Ger Hurley kicked two penalties for the visitors and David Shannon added a drop goal.

St Mary’s defeated Tralee 21-3 with tries from Daithi Byrnes and Marcus Costello and a conversion and three penalties by Sean Lyons. Mike Mullally kicked a penalty for Tralee.

A try in the last minute from Damien O’Dwyer, converted by John Lillis, denied Kinsale their first win in the league as they lost at home to Waterpark 21-19. Sean Kingston scored two tries and two conversions for Kinsale and Ciarán Keogh also got a try. Kevin Phelan got a try for Waterpark and John O’Brien kicked a drop goal and two penalties.

There was no change at the top of the Second Division with all the top three sides recording bonus point wins. Leaders Bandon beat Waterford City 26-3 with tries from Aidan Slattery, Christian Mulcahy, Sean Óg Murphy and Mike Murphy. Richard Walsh kicked three conversions. Darren Walsh replied with a penalty for the visitors.

Alan Mulligan gave Killarney an early lead with a try but a try by Vivian Grisewood converted by Niall Leahy earned Clanwilliam a 7-5 half time lead. Tries from Brian Kissane, Andrew Ryan and Leahy secured the points for the visitors.

Thurles ran in eight tries in their 52-10 away win at Ballincollig. Nick Irwin (3), Eoghan O’Dwyer (2), Jason O’Mahony, Joe Kelly and Aidan Dwyer were Thurles try scorers, Dwyer converted six. Ballincollig replied with an Aidan McSweeney try and a conversion and penalty by Paul Galvin. Mallow defeated Abbeyfeale 19-13 with tries from Conor O’Donovan, Denis Murphy and Michael O’Flynn, with O’Flynn adding two conversions. Pat Brislane replied with a try for the visitors and Tom Hassett converted. David Collins kicked two penalties.

More in this section

CourtsRugbyPlace: TipperaryPlace: RathcooneyPlace: BallincolligPerson: ClonmelPerson: John SheehanPerson: Sean HerlihyPerson: Alex SheehanPerson: Conor CooneyPerson: HerlihyPerson: Mick BarryPerson: Greg CarrollPerson: CooneyPerson: GalballyPerson: Stephen CotterPerson: Joe LeePerson: ClonPerson: Kevin O’DonoghuePerson: Tom DavernPerson: Sean BourkePerson: Jack HickeyPerson: Tom RicePerson: Eoin GearyPerson: Tom CroninPerson: Jake EganPerson: Emile MoffattPerson: Warren KellyPerson: Declan RowePerson: John ChambersPerson: Pat RourkePerson: MuskerryPerson: Jonathan BuckleyPerson: Paddy NaughtonPerson: Darragh DalyPerson: Sean MeaneyPerson: SkibbereenPerson: Diarmuid O’DonnellPerson: Darren LoweryPerson: Ger HurleyPerson: David ShannonPerson: Daithi ByrnesPerson: Marcus CostelloPerson: Seán LyonsPerson: Mike MullallyPerson: TraleePerson: Damien O’DwyerPerson: John LillisPerson: Sean KingstonPerson: KinsalePerson: Ciaran KeoghPerson: Kevin PhelanPerson: John O’BrienPerson: Aidan SlatteryPerson: Christian MulcahyPerson: Sean Óg MurphyPerson: Mike MurphyPerson: Richard WalshPerson: Darren WalshPerson: Alan MulliganPerson: KillarneyPerson: Vivian GrisewoodPerson: Niall LeahyPerson: Brian KissanePerson: Andrew RyanPerson: LeahyPerson: Nick IrwinPerson: Eoghan O’DwyerPerson: Jason O’MahonyPerson: Joe KellyPerson: Aidan DwyerPerson: DwyerPerson: Aidan McSweeneyPerson: Paul GalvinPerson: MallowPerson: Conor O’DonovanPerson: Denis MurphyPerson: Michael O’FlynnPerson: O’FlynnPerson: Pat BrislanePerson: Tom HassettPerson: David CollinsEvent: Munster Junior LeagueOrganisation: Newcastle WestOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: Cobh PiratesOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: Old ChristiansOrganisation: MuskerryOrganisation: KilfeacleOrganisation: St Mary’sOrganisation: WaterparkOrganisation: Waterford CityOrganisation: ClanwilliamOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: Abbeyfeale

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox