IRB admit Rolland wrong to block Wallabies’ substitution

Referee Alain Rolland was wrong not to allow Australia to make a late substitution and finish their match against South Africa with 15 men, the International Rugby Board (IRB) said hours after backing the officials’ original decision.

IRB admit  Rolland wrong to block Wallabies’ substitution

The wounded Wallabies played the final minutes of their 31-8 defeat in Pretoria on Saturday with 14 men after they made all their substitutions early in a physical clash that resulted in five of their players being forced off with injury. Rolland blocked the Australians from replacing injured hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau with Saia Fainga’a in the 66th minute saying the Wallabies had made all sevenof their allowed replacements.

The match was delayed for several minutes as Rolland explained his decision to irate Wallaby officials before play was resumed and Springbok winger Bryan Habana took advantage of the extra space to score his third try of the game.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Unlimited access. Half the price.

Annual €120 €60

Best value

Monthly €10€5 / month

More in this section

Sport

Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers. and reporters

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited