Munster not for Bradley

Former Irish and Munster scrum-half Michael Bradley has ruled himself out of the Munster job.

Bradley, who had previously applied for the post after Declan Kidney’s move to the national job, said: “I am working with Edinburgh and I am at the start of a two-year contract, so it is not really an issue for me at the moment.”

However, his current side’s poor league run continued last night in Galway with their fifth loss on the trot, while Connacht, unbeaten by Edinburgh in Galway since 2008, also denied their visitors a bonus point.

Striking for a second try in the last minute of the match, Connacht ensured they leapfrogged Edinburgh in the league table too.

Connacht’s breakthrough came after a big push on an Edinburgh scrum and scrum-half Frank Murphy was quick to grab possession. After centre Kyle Tonetti was halted short of the line, Mike McCarthy and Michael Swift made the hard yards before right-wing Fetu Vainikolo raced through for his first try for the home side in the RaboDirect Pro12. O’Connor added the extras for a 10-0 half-time lead.

O’Connor stretched that to 13-0 just after the restart, sparking a mini-revival from Edinburgh, who touched down through Tim Visser after an O’Connor kick had been charged down in the 22.

Connacht looked home and dried when Edinburgh’s right-wing Tom Brown was sin-binned, and O’Connor nailed another penalty.

Despite the setback, Bradley’s outfit were not done. Full-back Chris Paterson ran in for a try in the corner with Godman’s conversion hitting the upright, and when the replacement out-half struck a 50th-minute penalty, Connacht’s lead had been whittled down to three points. However, Matthew Jarvis slotted a 68th-minute penalty and Mike McCarthy’s try sealed their first victory since September, with Jarvis adding the extras.

Scorers for Connacht: Tries: Vainikolo, McCarthy. Cons: N O’Connor, Jarvis. Pens: N O’Connor 3, Jarvis.

Edinburgh scorers: Tries: T Visser, Paterson. Pen: Godman.

CONNACHT: G Duffy (capt); F Vainikolo, K Tonetti, H Fa’afili T O’Halloran; N O’Connor, F Murphy; D Buckley, A Flavin, R Loughney, M Swift, M McCarthy, J Muldoon, E Grace, G Naoupu.

Replacements: E Griffin for Fa’afili 49; B Wilkinson for Buckley 54; M Jarvis for O’Connor 57; E Reynecke for Flavin 61; S Maguire for Loughney 76.

EDINBURGH: C Paterson, T Brown, J Thompson, M Scott, T Visser, G Hunter, C Leck, K Traynor, A Kelly, J Gilding, G Gilchrist, S Cox, S McInally, R Grant (capt), N Talei.

Replacements: P Godman for Hunter h-t; U Gamboa for Gilding 59; D Fife for Paterson 71; E Lozada for Cox 73.

Referee: Carlo Damasco (Italy).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox