Finn on the double for CBC

CBC Cork’s Adam Finn touched down for two tries as his side cruised to victory in their opening Avonmore Milk Munster Senior Schools Cup clash yesterday.

His fellow backs Tomás Quinlan and Tom Morehead also crossed as CBC’s pacemen made decent use of a dry track at Temple Hill to shut out the challenge of Ardscoil Rís.

Knowing they could be living off scraps and get shaded by CBC in the physical stakes, Ardscoil admirably took risks and put width on their game throughout in a bid to keep the hosts’ forwards away from the contact area.

But although they had stand-out performers in skipper Ciaran Power, out-half Robbie Burke and full-back Ronan McKenna, the Limerick school turned over far too much breakdown ball via penalties or the excellent scavenging work by the Cork side’s centres John McCarthy and Morehead.

Both sides missed a couple of early penalties but CBC found their footing with the excellent openside Mike Ryan particularly prominent.

Ryan, prop Charlie Slowey and scrum-half Charlie O’Regan sucked in the Ardscoil tacklers around the fringes on 19 minutes to give Morehead the room to score out wide, with O’Riordan off target with the conversion.

CBC cranked up their maul a couple of times to stunning effect and Ardscoil subsequently made one breakdown infringement too many, with flanker David O’Halloran sent to the sin-bin. CBC exploited his absence from the scrum to send O’Regan careering away down the open side with Finn in support, and the wing held his line to take the pass for a 10-0 half-time lead.

Slowey then instigated a try after the break, finished by full-back Quinlan and Ardscoil were in dire straits.

CBC then made it safe with 18 minutes to go when their midfield men again combined brilliantly to release Finn who gathered and touched down to wrap up a most resounding win.

Scorers for CBC Cork: Tries: A Finn (two), T Morehead, T Quinlan. Con: D O’Riordan.

CBC CORK: T Quinlan; A Finn, T Morehead, J McCarthy, C McAuliffe; D O’Riordan (capt), C O’Regan; C Slowey, R Daly, R Burke; T Arrigan, D Moloney; A Mintern, M Ryan, D Stokes.

Replacements: R O’Dowling for Mintern (49), A McCarthy for Stokes (52), R Foley for O’Regan (53), O Hanley for Quinlan (62, inj), J Dowling for Finn (65), L O’Connor for Ryan (65).

ARDSCOIL RIS: R McKenna; E O’Callaghan; R Deegan, A O’Byrne, D Kelly; R Burke, J Murray; T Cusack, D O’Shea, L McMahon; C Irwin, P Kearns; C Glynn, D O’Halloran, C Power (capt).

Replacements: P Obande for Irwin (h/t), C Mulqueen for Kelly (56), F Bradshaw Ryan for O’Halloran (58), L Guinane for Cusack (53), A Keane for O’Shea (65), J Stack for Murray (67).

Referee: T Donaghue (MAR).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox

Execution Time: 0.215 s