Leinster debut for Maori prop Newland

CLINT NEWLAND makes his debut for Leinster tonight against the Dragons at the RDS (7.05pm), when the New Zealand Maori prop lines up in a front row which includes Heinke van der Merwe and Richardt Strauss.

Four Ireland internationals are in the pack including Leo Cullen, who leads the side. Isaac Boss partners Shaun Berne at half-back, with Eoin O’Malley continuing his centre partnership with Fergus McFadden. Isa Nacewa is named in the back three alongside Shane Horgan and David Kearney.

Ed O’Donoghue is on the bench after missing the last five games through injury. Ticket sales are approaching the 15,000 mark. Ulster face Cardiff Blues at the Cardiff City Stadium on Sunday (3.45pm), and coach Brian McLaughlin has named a 27-man squad.

LEINSTER: I Nacewa, S Horgan, E O’Malley, F McFadden, D Kearney, S Berne, I Boss; H van der Merwe, R Strauss, C Newland, L Cullen (c), T Hogan, R Ruddock, S Jennings, S Keogh.

Replacements: J Harris-Wright, J McGrath, M Ross, E O’Donoghue, E Ryan, P O’Donohoe, I Madigan, A Conway.

DRAGONS: P Leach, W Harries, T Cheeseman, A Smith, A Hughes; J Tovey, W Evans; P Price, T Willis (c), N Hall, S Morgan, R Sidoli, A Jones, G Thomas, L Evans.

Replacements: L Burns, D Way, H Gustafson, L Charteris, H Ellis, R Gomer Davies, J Leadbeater, M Jones.

ULSTER: Forwards: J Cronin, P McAllister, B Young, BJ Botha, A Kyriacou, N Brady, T Barker, R Caldwell, D Tuohy, J Muller, W Faloon, R Diack, P Wannenburg, C Henry.

Backs: A D’Arcy, D McIlwaine, T Seymour, S Danielli, C Gilroy, L Marshall, J Smith, N Spence, I Whitten, I Humphreys, N O’Connor, P Marshall, I Porter.

More in this section

CourtsRugbyPlace: NewlandPlace: Cardiff City StadiumPerson: Heinke van der MerwePerson: Richardt StraussPerson: Leo CullenPerson: Isaac BossPerson: Shaun BernePerson: Eoin O’MalleyPerson: Fergus McFaddenPerson: Isa NacewaPerson: Shane HorganPerson: David KearneyPerson: Ed O’DonoghuePerson: Brian McLaughlinPerson: I NacewaPerson: S HorganPerson: E O’MalleyPerson: F McFaddenPerson: D KearneyPerson: S BernePerson: I BossPerson: H van der MerwePerson: R StraussPerson: C NewlandPerson: L CullenPerson: T HoganPerson: R RuddockPerson: S JenningsPerson: S KeoghPerson: J Harris-WrightPerson: J McGrathPerson: M RossPerson: E O’DonoghuePerson: E RyanPerson: P O’DonohoePerson: I MadiganPerson: A ConwayPerson: P LeachPerson: W HarriesPerson: T CheesemanPerson: A SmithPerson: A HughesPerson: J ToveyPerson: W EvansPerson: P PricePerson: T WillisPerson: N HallPerson: S MorganPerson: R SidoliPerson: A JonesPerson: G ThomasPerson: L EvansPerson: L BurnsPerson: D WayPerson: H GustafsonPerson: L CharterisPerson: H EllisPerson: R Gomer DaviesPerson: J LeadbeaterPerson: M JonesPerson: J CroninPerson: P McAllisterPerson: B YoungPerson: BJ BothaPerson: A KyriacouPerson: N BradyPerson: T BarkerPerson: R CaldwellPerson: D TuohyPerson: J MullerPerson: W FaloonPerson: R DiackPerson: P WannenburgPerson: C HenryPerson: A D’ArcyPerson: D McIlwainePerson: T SeymourPerson: S DanielliPerson: C GilroyPerson: L MarshallPerson: J SmithPerson: N SpencePerson: I WhittenPerson: I HumphreysPerson: N O’ConnorPerson: P MarshallPerson: I PorterOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: NewlandOrganisation: DragonsOrganisation: RDSOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: Cardiff Blues
Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd