Early blitz sets Irish up for tilt at U20 crown

Ireland U-20 24 Wales U-20 17

The Welsh challenge was quenched with an awesome first-half display which saw Ireland ahead at the break 17-0.

The big lead was needed as Wales, the only team to defeat Ireland in Dubarry Park since the U20 games moved there a few years ago, stepped up several gears after the restart in a high tempo game.

Ten points though was as near as they came to bridging the gap until the dying seconds of a fine contest, when Wales got their third try after the TMO awarded the effort to winger James Loxton in the right corner.

Ireland who got the dream start when hooker Niall Annett charged down a clearance to touch down inside 15 seconds. James McKinney, who kicked four from four, landed the conversion from the left for the perfect start.

He tacked on a penalty ten minutes later with number eight Patrick Butler leading the way with plenty of go-forward ball. It was fitting it was Butler who extended the lead after lock David O’Callaghan cut a perfect line through the middle to take from his half-backs and send the big Shannon man over for the try of the night.

McKinney again added the conversion to make it 17-0 after just 14 minutes.

Full-back David Fish hauled the Welsh back into contention six minutes after the restart after a superb break by Kristian Phillips, which Dean Gunter converted.

But their hopes of a comeback were quickly dashed when a superb grubber from McKinney put Eoin Grffin over for their third try after 48 minutes.

Full-back Fish displayed magnificent pace to notch Wales’ third try after 53 minutes but that was as near as they came until Loxton got the late consolation score as Ireland continue their march towards nailing the title.

Scorers for Ireland: Tries: Annett, Butler, Griffin. Cons: McKinney (3) Pen: McKinney

IRELAND: A Conway (Blackrock College/Leinster), D Hudson (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), B Macken (Blackrock/Leinster), N Spence (Ballynahinch/Ulster), T O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht), J McKinney (Queen’s University/Ulster), J Cooney (UCD/Leinster), J O’Connell (Lansdowne/Leinster), N Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster), S Maguire (Old Belvedere/Leinster), D O’Callaghan (UCC/Munster), B Marshall (UCD/Leinster), R Ruddock (UCD/Leinster) captain; D Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster), P Butler (Shannon/Munster).

Replacements: E Griffin (Corinthians/Connacht) for Hudson, 34 mins; B Cagney (UCC/Munster) for Maguire, 56 mins; M Heaney (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) for Cooney, 70 mins; B Hayes (Cork Constitution/Munster) for Marshall, 74 mins; R Byrne (UCD/Leinster) for Annett, 74 min; R O’Sullivan (Bective Rangers/Leinster) for Ryan, 78 mins.

Wales scorers: Tries: Fish (2), Loxton. Con: Gunter

WALES: D Fish (Blues); J Loxton (Blues), B John (Ospreys), S Williams (Scarlets), K Phillips (Ospreys); M Jarvis (Ospreys), G Davies (Scarlets); D Watchurst (Dragons), R Williams (Blues), S Gardiner (Scarlets), M Cook (Blues), L Peers (Ospreys), M Allen (Pontypool), J Navidi (Blues), Toby Faletau (Dragons).

Replacements: T Davies (Scarlets) for Gardiner, 14 mins; J Thomas (Dragons) for Cook, 14 mins; D Gunter (Blues) for Jarvis, 45 mins; R Downes (Blues) for Davies, 63 mins; R Jenkins (Dragons) for Allen, 70 mins; I Davies (Glamorgan Wanderers), R Jenkins (Dragons), E Siggery (Llandovery), ,

Referee: L Cardona (France).

More in this section

CourtsRugbySix NationsPlace: Dubarry ParkPlace: ScotlandPlace: FrancePerson: James LoxtonPerson: Niall AnnettPerson: James McKinneyPerson: Patrick ButlerPerson: ButlerPerson: David O’CallaghanPerson: ShannonPerson: McKinneyPerson: David FishPerson: Kristian PhillipsPerson: Dean GunterPerson: Eoin GrffinPerson: FishPerson: AnnettPerson: GriffinPerson: A ConwayPerson: D HudsonPerson: B MackenPerson: T O’HalloranPerson: J McKinneyPerson: J CooneyPerson: J O’ConnellPerson: N AnnettPerson: S MaguirePerson: D O’CallaghanPerson: B MarshallPerson: R RuddockPerson: D RyanPerson: P ButlerPerson: E GriffinPerson: HudsonPerson: B CagneyPerson: MaguirePerson: M HeaneyPerson: CooneyPerson: B HayesPerson: MarshallPerson: R ByrnePerson: R O’SullivanPerson: RyanPerson: Gunter WALESPerson: D FishPerson: J LoxtonPerson: B JohnPerson: S WilliamsPerson: K PhillipsPerson: M JarvisPerson: G DaviesPerson: D WatchurstPerson: R WilliamsPerson: S GardinerPerson: M CookPerson: L PeersPerson: M AllenPerson: J NavidiPerson: Toby FaletauPerson: T DaviesPerson: GardinerPerson: J ThomasPerson: CookPerson: D GunterPerson: R DownesPerson: DaviesPerson: R JenkinsPerson: AllenPerson: I DaviesPerson: E SiggeryPerson: L CardonaEvent: U20 Six NationsEvent: U20 gamesOrganisation: WalesOrganisation: IrelandOrganisation: TMOOrganisation: Wales’Organisation: LoxtonOrganisation: Blackrock CollegeOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: St. Mary’s CollegeOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: NOrganisation: BallynahinchOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: GalwegiansOrganisation: ConnachtOrganisation: Queen’s UniversityOrganisation: UCDOrganisation: LansdowneOrganisation: Belfast HarlequinsOrganisation: Old BelvedereOrganisation: UCCOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: ShannonOrganisation: CorinthiansOrganisation: Cork ConstitutionOrganisation: AnnettOrganisation: Bective RangersOrganisation: BluesOrganisation: OspreysOrganisation: ScarletsOrganisation: DragonsOrganisation: PontypoolOrganisation: Glamorgan WanderersOrganisation: Llandovery

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox