Luck scoops broadcaster gong

Nick Luck won the accolade for Racing Broadcaster of the Year at the Horserace Writers and Photographers Association annual awards ceremony at the Dorchester Hotel in London yesterday.

The Channel 4 and Racing UK presenter saw off competition from John Hunt, Matt Chapman and Graham Cunningham.

The Racing Post’s Jon Lees was named Reporter of the Year, with Julian Herbert claiming the award for Photograph of the Year.

Alan Crowhurst was crowned Photographer of the Year.

AP McCoy won Jockey of the Year, while the retiring Richard Hannon took the trainers’ award.

Ed Dunlop was named International Trainer of the Year thanks to the exploits of Red Cadeaux and Joshua Tree.

The Owner of the Year prize went to Sheikh Joaan Al Thani due to the victories of Toronado, Olympic Glory and Arc heroine Treve.

Jack Berry picked up the coveted George Ennor Trophy for lifetime achievement, while Derek Thompson won the President’s Award.

The Clive Graham Trophy for Racing Writer of the Year went to Chris McGrath, former racing correspondent of the Independent.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox