Clarke drawn alongside Woods

Darren Clarke has been paired with Tiger Woods and Lee Westwood with Vijay Singh for the first two rounds of the Masters on Thursday and Friday.

Darren Clarke has been paired with Tiger Woods and Lee Westwood with Vijay Singh for the first two rounds of the Masters on Thursday and Friday.

Westwood, back in the event for the first time since 2002, does not have to wait too long, teeing off at 10.49am.

But Clarke and Woods are in the third last group at 1.33pm – just ahead of Ernie Els, David Toms and Adam Scott.

The third member of Westwood’s group is American Chad Campbell, while Clarke and Woods are joined by Paraguay’s Carlos Franco.

Padraig Harrington, Europe’s leading player at sixth in the world rankings, is off at 9.27am with Fuzzy Zoeller and Angel Cabrera, while Phil Mickelson begins his title defence with American amateur champion Ryan Moore and Australian Stuart Appleby for company. They go out at 10.38am.

David Howell’s debut sees him in the very first group at 8.05am, with Ian Woosnam immediately behind.

British amateur champion Stuart Wilson, from Scotland, partners five-time Open champion Tom Watson and former US Open champion Jim Furyk at 11.22am.

Organisers will have one eye on the weather however, with thunderstorms having been forecast for Thursday morning.

Tee-off times for the first two rounds of the Masters at Augusta National, Augusta, Georgia, United States, on Thursday and Friday (USA unless stated, all times BST):

(x) denotes amateurs

1305 and 1600 Jonathan Kaye, David Howell (Gbr), Ted Purdy

1316 and 1611 Ian Woosnam (Gbr), Kirk Triplett, Jeff Maggert

1327 and 1622 Shaun Micheel, Mark Hensby (Aus), Jerry Kelly

1338 and 1638 Larry Mize, Paul Casey (Gbr), David Duval

1349 and 1649 Gary Player (Rsa), (x) Austin Eaton, Todd Hamilton

1400 and 1700 Nick Price (Zim), Chris Riley, Joe Ogilvie

1416 and 1711 Craig Stadler, Joakim Haeggman (Swe), Ian Poulter (Gbr)

1427 and 1722 Fuzzy Zoeller, Padraig Harrington (Ire), Angel Cabrera (Arg)

1438 and 1733 Nick Faldo (Gbr), Peter Lonard (Aus), Tom Lehman

1449 and 1749 Retief Goosen (Rsa), Stewart Cink, Nick O’Hern (Aus)

1500 and 1800 Mike Weir (Can), Rich Beem, Fredrik Jacobson (Swe)

1511 and 1811 Jack Nicklaus, Jay Haas, Shingo Katayama (Jpn)

1527 and 1822 Jose Maria Olazabal (Spa), Justin Leonard, Thomas Bjorn (Den)

1538 and 1833 Phil Mickelson, (x) Ryan Moore, Stuart Appleby (Aus)

1549 and 1844 Vijay Singh (Fij), Lee Westwood (Gbr), Chad Campbell

1600 and 1855 Bernhard Langer (Ger), Sergio Garcia (Spa), Kenny Perry

1611 and 1305 Charles Coody, Tommy Aaron, Billy Casper

1622 and 1316 Tom Watson, (x) Stuart Wilson (Gbr), Jim Furyk

1638 and 1327 Ben Curtis, Bo Van Pelt, Trevor Immelman (Rsa)

1649 and 1338 Steve Flesch, Casey Wittenberg, Rod Pampling (Aus)

1700 and 1349 Fred Funk, Scott Verplank, Rory Sabbatini (Rsa)

1711 and 1400 Fred Couples, (x) Luke List, Tim Herron

1722 and 1416 Ben Crenshaw, Graeme McDowell (Gbr), Tim Clark (Rsa)

1733 and 1427 Sandy Lyle (Gbr), Ryan Palmer, Robert Allenby (Aus)

1749 and 1438 Raymond Floyd, Thomas Levet (Fra), Stephen Ames (Can)

1800 and 1449 Davis Love, Luke Donald (Gbr), Charles Howell

1811 and 1500 Chris di Marco, Craig Parry us, Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa)

1822 and 1511 Mark O’Meara, ] Choi (S Kor), Zach Johnson

1833 and 1527 Tiger Woods, Darren Clarke (Gbr), Carlos Franco (Par)

1844 and 1538 Ernie Els (Rsa), David Toms, Adam Scott (Aus)

1855 and 1549 John Daly, Shigeki Maruyama (Jpn), Jesper Parnevik (Swe)

More in this section

courtsgolfaugusta mastersplace: paraguayplace: europeplace: scotlandplace: augusta nationalplace: augusta, georgia, united statesplace: ausplace: spaplace: denperson: clarkeperson: woods darren clarkeperson: tiger woodsperson: lee westwoodperson: vijay singhperson: darren clarkeperson: westwoodperson: woodsperson: ernie elsperson: david tomsperson: adam scottperson: chad campbellperson: carlos francoperson: padraig harringtonperson: fuzzy zoellerperson: angel cabreraperson: phil mickelsonperson: ryan mooreperson: stuart applebyperson: david howellperson: ian woosnamperson: stuart wilsonperson: tom watsonperson: jim furykperson: jonathan kayeperson: ted purdyperson: kirk triplettperson: jeff maggertperson: shaun micheelperson: mark hensbyperson: jerry kellyperson: larry mizeperson: paul caseyperson: david duvalperson: gary playerperson: austin eatonperson: todd hamiltonperson: nick priceperson: chris rileyperson: joe ogilvieperson: craig stadlerperson: joakim haeggmanperson: ian poulterperson: nick faldoperson: peter lonardperson: tom lehmanperson: retief goosenperson: stewart cinkperson: nick o’hernperson: mike weirperson: rich beemperson: fredrik jacobsonperson: jack nicklausperson: jay haasperson: shingo katayamaperson: jose maria olazabalperson: justin leonardperson: thomas bjornperson: bernhard langerperson: sergio garciaperson: kenny perryperson: charles coodyperson: tommy aaronperson: billy casperperson: ben curtisperson: bo van peltperson: trevor immelmanperson: steve fleschperson: casey wittenbergperson: rod pamplingperson: fred funkperson: scott verplankperson: rory sabbatiniperson: fred couplesperson: luke listperson: tim herronperson: ben crenshawperson: graeme mcdowellperson: tim clarkperson: sandy lyleperson: ryan palmerperson: robert allenbyperson: raymond floydperson: thomas levetperson: stephen amesperson: davis loveperson: luke donaldperson: charles howellperson: chris di marcoperson: craig parry usperson: miguel angel jimenezperson: mark o’mearaperson: choiperson: korperson: zach johnsonperson: john dalyperson: shigeki maruyamaperson: jesper parnevikevent: us openevent: masters

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox