McDowell takes the blame for two-stroke penalty

In contrast to Rory McIlroy’s club-throwing antics, Graeme McDowell showed remarkable grace under pressure as he closed bogey-par-triple bogey at Wentworth.

McDowell takes the blame for two-stroke penalty

McDowell’s eight at the last included a two-stroke penalty having sent his ball right into trees, where he found it “hovering in some branches”.

His ball moved as he approached it, breaching Rule 18-2, even though he was some feet away from it. Because he did not replace it he was adjudged by European Tour chief referee John Paramor to have broken Rule 20-7, playing from the wrong place, the penalty superseding that for the original misdemeanour.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Unlimited access. Half the price.

Annual €130 €65

Best value

Monthly €12€6 / month

More in this section

Sport

Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers. and reporters

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited