Debutants Jack O’Connor and David Dunne in Wexford side to play Dublin

U21 players Jack O’Connor and David Dunne are the two debutants on the Wexford side for tomorrow’s Leinster SHC quarter-final against Dublin in Croke Park (7.15pm).

David Dunne of Wexford against Dublin. Pic: Sportsfile

O’Connor, of St Martin’s is at left half-back while Davidstown-Courtnacuddy player Dunne gets the number 15 shirt. Lee Chin has a medial ligament injury while while Aidan Nolan (knee) has also been out recently, but Liam Dunne has left a vacancy at number 26. Ian Byrne has recovered from a calf problem and is named on the bench.

The Cork team to face Tipperary in the Munster SHC quarter-final on Sunday will be named tonight. The intermediate teams are in action in the curtain-raiser at Thurles at 2pm, with the Rebels opting for a panel of players under 25, free of restrictions on those from senior clubs. Starters Diarmuid Lester and Brian Murray (Bishopstown), Donnacha O’Donovan (Ballinhassig), Cian Buckley and Patrick O’Rourke (Na Piarsaigh), Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers) and Eoin O’Sullivan (Sarsfields) would not have been available under old selection rules.

WEXFORD (SH v Dublin):

C O’Leary (Oulart The Ballagh); L Ryan (Rappa rees), M O’Hanlon (St James), E Moore (Oulart The Ballagh); D O’Keeffe (St Anne’s), P Foley (Crossabg-Ballymurn), Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s); E Conroy (Naomh Éanna), A Kenny (Buffers Alley); L Og McGovern (St Anne’s), P Doran (Oylegate/Glenbrien), H Kehoe (Cloughbawn); P Morris (Ferns St Aidan’s), C McDonald (Naomh Éanna), D Dunne (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy). Subs: M Fanning (Glynn-Barntown), É Martin (Geraldine O’Hanrahans), A Maddock (St Martin’s), I Byrne (Ferns St Aidan’s), S Tomkins (Askamore/Kilrush), C Dunbar (Ballygarrett), N Kirwan (Oulart The Ballagh), Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s), K Sheridan (Oulart The Ballagh).

CORK (IH v Tipperary):

D Dalton (Fr O’Neills); D Lester (Bishopstown), C Barry (Castlelyons), D Browne (Kanturk); K Kavanagh (Carrigaline), D O’Donovan (Ballinhassig), C Buckley (Na Piarsaigh); B Murray (Bishopstown), K O’Neill (Watergrasshill); D Brosnan (Glen Rovers), N Kelly (Mayfield), E O’Sullivan (Sarsfields); D Drake (Carrigaline), P O’Rourke (Na Piarsaigh), N McNamara (Kilworth).


T Wallace (Midleton), G Murphy (Newcestown), C O’Brien (St Ita’s), S Hegarty (Dungourney), R Cahalane (Ballymartle), A Cagney (Charleville), E Brosnan (Meelin), S Hayes (Mallow), B Lawton (Castlemartyr).

Tyrone (SFC v Derry) :

M O’Neill, A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron, T McCann, N Sludden, P Harte, C Cavanagh, M Donnelly, C McShane, M Bradley, R Donnelly, C McAliskey, S Cavanagh, R O’Neill.

Here’s a little extra sport: BallTalk TV preview the Munster Senior Hurling Championship clash between Cork and Tipperary.


Lindsay Woods: At a time of year when the pace is frenzied and days are full of school plays and deadlines, the chance to break from routine is a welcome one

On the red carpet: Margot Robbie, Saoirse Ronan, Diane Kruger and Cheryl

Raise a glass to Christmas festivities

The best festive desserts to try out this Christmas

More From The Irish Examiner