Mayo avoid Galway and Roscommon in Connacht  SFC draw

Earlier Colm Collins' Clare draw Kingdom out of the hat yet again in first round
Mayo avoid Galway and Roscommon in Connacht  SFC draw

TIGHT SQUEEZE: Kerry's Diarmuid O'Connor is blocked by Cork's Maurice Shanley in last year's Munster SFC. The provincial big guns have avoided each other in the draw for the 2021 Championship. 

Mayo have avoided both Galway and Roscommon in their path back to the Connacht SFC final.

The reigning Connacht champions are on the other side of the draw to their two main provincial rivals, with James Horan’s side to open their campaign with a quarter-final tie against Sligo.

New Sligo manager Tony McEntee's first championship game in charge will bring him face to face with the county he worked with between 2016 and 2018. The winners of this contest will advance to play Leitrim in the penultimate round.

On the other side of the draw, Galway and Roscommon will do battle for a place in the decider. The most recent championship meeting between the counties was the 2019 Connacht final which Roscommon won in Salthill.

With London and New York not involved due to Covid travel logistical difficulties, this evening’s draw involving the five indigenous Connacht counties was the first open Connacht SFC draw since 1974 as from 1975 onward Connacht counties have taken turns to face London in the first round. New York joined the province in 1999.

Earlier, Cork and Kerry were drawn on separate sides of the 2021 Munster SFC draw as champions Tipperary will face Clare or Kerry in their semi-final.

Cork and Tipperary could have been drawn together but last year’s runners-up will face Limerick or Waterford in their last-four game.

It’s the sixth time Colm Collins will face Kerry in the Championship as Clare manager having been drawn on the same side of the Kingdom for four consecutive seasons between 2015 and ‘19. The Banner will travel to Killarney for the first round game, while Tipp would entertain the Kingdom in a semi-final.

A potential Cork-Kerry provincial decider would take place in Fitzgerald Stadium, the first time the counties will meet in Killarney in championship fare in four years.

Limerick and Waterford meet for the second successive season in the quarter-final stage.

Ronan McCarthy’s 12-week ban will have elapsed by the time of his team’s semi-final. The Munster SFC final is scheduled for Sunday, July 25. The provincial champions will face the Ulster winners in their All-Ireland semi-final.

Munster SFC quarter-finals: Clare v Kerry, Waterford v Limerick; Munster SFC semi-finals: Tipperary v Clare/Kerry; Cork v Waterford/Limerick.


More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up