New Wexford boss brings duo on board

Thomas Codd and Murty Dempsey have been chosen to assist new Wexford senior hurling manager Liam Dunne for his first season in charge.

Thomas Codd and Murty Dempsey have been chosen to assist new Wexford senior hurling manager Liam Dunne for his first season in charge.

Dunne, who has replaced Colm Bonnar in the Model County hot seat, lined out with Codd during his playing days with Wexford.

St. Martin's clubman Codd is a first cousin of Ireland striker Kevin Doyle, while Dempsey, who hails from the Rapparees/Starlights club, helped Cuala win three Dublin titles.

Meanwhile, the newly-appointed Galway hurling boss Anthony Cunningham has chosen his first panel of players ahead of the 2012 season.

A number of frontline players have been dropped, including former captains Damien Joyce and Shane Kavanagh and free-taker Ger Farragher. Defenders Donal Barry, John Lee and Adrian Cullinane also miss out.

Cunningham and his selectors Tom Helebert and Mattie Kenny seem intent on bringing through some of the Under-21 players they guided to All-Ireland glory this year.

Commenting on the 37-man squad and the selection process, Cunningham said: "The group is based on a mix of youth, experience, energy, commitment and desire to allow us to embark on the development process now required to build a Galway team capable of success against the top teams during our three-year management term.

"While the training panel contains a number of quality and experienced players that have represented the Galway seniors over the last number of years, it is strongly focused on youth with all 15 players from this year's successful All-Ireland winning U-21 side and a total of 14 that are underage for the 2012 U-21 campaign also included.

"However we want to strongly emphasise that it is an open-ended panel and will be revised for the National League. Player performances during club and college campaigns will be closely monitored."

The Tribesmen's new management team will meet up with the players next Saturday where they will outline the individual conditioning and fitness programmes for the assembled squad, before collective training begins in January.

GALWAY SH Training Panel: James Skehill, David Collins, Fergal Moore, Tony Og Regan, Kevin Hynes, Andy Smith, Cyril Donnellan, Eanna Ryan, Damien Hayes, Joe Canning, Mark Lydon, Jamie Ryan, Barry Daly, Conor Cooney, David Burke, Davy Glennon, Deccie Connolly, Ger O'Halloran, James Regan, Jason Grealish, Johnny Coen, Niall Burke, Richie Cummins, Brian Regan, Iarla Tannian, Bernard Burke, Conor Burke, Donal Cooney, Donal Fox, Fergal Flannery, Niall Donoghue, Paul Gordon, Tadhg Haran, Aidan Harte, Paul Hoban, Mark Horan, Brian Flaherty.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up