Ryan names unchanged Wexford side

Manager Jason Ryan has selected an unchanged Wexford team for Sunday's Leinster SFC final against Dublin at Croke Park (throw-in 2pm).

Manager Jason Ryan has selected an unchanged Wexford team for Sunday's Leinster SFC final against Dublin at Croke Park (throw-in 2pm).

With no injury concerns, Ryan has opted to field the same 15 players for the fourth successive Championship match. They all started the runaway wins over Offaly and Westmeath and also the 4-12 to 0-10 semi-final triumph over Carlow.

There are a number of positional switches teed up with captain David Murphy due to move to corner back, while Brian Malone will be stationed at centre-back.

Shane Roche, who kicked 2-4 against Carlow, will play in the corner with Ciarán Lyng set to start on the edge of the square. Lyng, with 1-17, and Ben Brosnan (0-20) have top-scored for Wexford so far this summer.

Experienced campaigner Colm Morris is listed at wing forward, but will be given licence to roam once again. St. James clubman Brendan Doyle, who was used as a substitute last time out, has recovered from a shoulder injury and will be on the bench.

Ryan dubbed his side's performance against Carlow as 'shocking' and said that 'the scoreline in the end, certainly on the first half performance, was very unfair.'

However, he has faith in his players to deliver against the Dubs and gain revenge for their 3-23 to 0-9 defeat to the same opponents in the 2008 Leinster final.

The Model men are chasing their 11th Leinster senior title and their first since 1945. Previewing Sunday's showdown, Ryan told the Wexford Echo: "The Carlow match was unusual for us in that we were red hot favourites. But the Dublin game is a whole different proposition, because there is huge pressure on Dublin to perform and win this game.

"The way Dublin are probably looking at this game is that they will win it and that it is just a matter of how much they win by! If we play to our strengths we can definitely win it.

"We have a lot of guys who are capable of kicking scores from different areas of the field and who are able to get shots at the Dublin goal - we won't have any chance if we don't take shots.

"But we are aware of Diarmuid Connolly, Kevin McManamon, Eoghan O'Gara, Bernard Brogan, Alan Brogan and Tomás Quinn - six Dublin forwards that have good goal-scoring records.

"That is something we have to be wary of and so ensure that we reduce their influence on things."

WEXFORD (SFC v Dublin): Anthony Masterson; Joey Wadding, Graeme Molloy, Brian Malone; Adrian Flynn, David Murphy (capt), Aindreas Doyle; Daithí Waters, Rory Quinlivan; Shane Roche, Ciarán Lyng; Ben Brosnan; Colm Morris, Eric Bradley, Redmond Barry.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up