Tipp thrash Galway in second-half domination

Galway 1-14 Tipperary 4-23, Pearse Stadium, Allianz Hurling League

Galway 1-14 Tipperary 4-23, Pearse Stadium, Allianz Hurling League

Shane Bourke scored a sensational 3-04 as Tipperary gave Division 1 rivals Galway a thrashing at Pearse Stadium.

John O’Brien (1-01) and Lar Corbett (0-04) ably assisted JK Brackens clubman Bourke in the Tipp full-forward line.

Galway, who were chasing a win to qualify for the Division 1 final, were only 1-10 to 1-08 behind at half-time, with free-taker Ger Farragher helping to close the gap.

Eoin Forde and O'Brien swapped first half goals, but Tipp took over in the second half with Bourke's hat-trick the obvious highlight.

Have Tipperary unearthed another goalscoring sensation? Only time will tell, but Bourke certainly offered a glimpse of his vast potential during this stunning display from the All-Ireland champions.

Declan Ryan's side were always in control in Salthill, demolishing Galway with a display of total hurling that left the near 6,000 crowd spellbound.

Though Eoin Forde flicked home an opportunistic 10th minute goal for Galway, Tipperary ruled the opening quarter and led by 0-07 to 1-02 after 18 minutes.

Pa Bourke was sharp from frees, while the bustling Patrick Maher was causing Galway plenty of bother.

Tipp netted their first goal in the 22nd minute when John O'Brien gathered a Pa Bourke sideline cut before rifling a blistering shot beyond Colm Callanan's reach.

Lar Corbett, who proved influential again in a roving commission, and Pa Bourke pointed to nudge Tipp 1-10 to 1-04 ahead, but Galway rallied in the last seven minutes of the first half.

Four points on the spin from Ger Farragher (0-02), Forde, and Adrian Cullinane narrowed the deficit to two at the break which did not really reflect what had happened as the visitors had been in the ascendancy for vast chunks.

In the third quarter, Tipp destroyed the hosts by hitting 1-05 without reply in 10 glorious minutes that demonstrated their abundant class.

Shane Bourke and the crafty Corbett nailed glorious points and a 39th minute goal of the highest quality followed. Moving the sliotar ever so quickly, Shane Bourke bookended the cameo with a tasty finish and Tipp were in full control.

From there on, it was only a matter of how much Ryan’s charges would win by as Galway were in deep distress.

Shane Bourke added goals in the 57th and 64th minutes to decorate the success for a Tipperary outfit that still has an outside chance of reaching the Division 1 decider.

Galway battled well in the closing stages, but they lacked the class and conviction of Tipperary's talented side that scored an amazing 4-20 from play in 70 minutes of exhibition hurling.

Scorers - G Farragher 0-05 (0-04f), E Forde 1-02, A Smith 0-02, A Cullinane, I Tannian, A Harte, J Coen, D Burke (0-01f) 0-01 each

Tipperary: S Bourke 3-04, J O'Brien 1-01, L Corbett, P Maher, P Bourke (0-01f, 0-01 '65') 0-04 each, S Carey 0-02 (0-01f), B Dunne, S McGrath, G Ryan, B O’Meara 0-01 each

GALWAY: C Callanan; D Joyce, C O’Donovan, G O’Halloran; D Barry, T Og Regan, A Cullinane; D Burke, G Farragher; J Cooney, A Smith, C Donnellan; E Ryan, I Tannian, E Forde.

Subs used: N Donoghue for O’Halloran (30 mins), A Harte for Cooney (38), J Lee for Joyce (44), J Coen for Farragher (46), David Hayes for Regan (60).

TIPPERARY: D Gleeson; J Coghlan, P Curran, M Cahill; D Young, Padraic Maher, J O’Keefe; G Ryan, S McGrath; B Dunne, Patrick Maher, P Bourke; S Bourke, J O’Brien, L Corbett.

Subs used: B O’Meara for O’Brien (46 mins), S Carey for Dunne (53), J Woodlock for O’Keefe, M Gleeson for Ryan (both 62), J O’Neill for Corbett (66).

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up