Ireland hurling-shinty squads announced

The Ireland senior and U-21 squads have been named for this Saturday's Hurling-Shinty international matches at Croke Park and Ratoath respectively.

The Ireland senior and U-21 squads have been named for this Saturday's Hurling-Shinty international matches at Croke Park and Ratoath respectively.

Ireland senior manager Joe Dooley has a strong panel at his disposal for Saturday's clash with Scotland at Croke Park (throw-in 4.45pm).

Six of the side that guided Ireland to a 2-8 to 1-8 win in Inverness last year are included for this weekend's renewal of rivalries.

Kilkenny's eight-time All-Star Tommy Walsh will again captain the side. Also returning are Offaly's Shane Dooley, John Rowney of Laois, Meath's Stephen Clynch, Gareth Johnston of Down and Armagh's Paul McCormack.

Walsh's Kilkenny team-mate and current All-Star Jackie Tyrrell will be keen to get a taste of the action, while Patrick Horgan of Cork and Willie Hyland of Laois can also expect to play in the hybrid game.

Antrim are strongly represented with three players in the squad, namely Arron Graffin, Neil McManus and Barry McFall, who all lined out for the Ireland U-21s last year. Hurlers from Westmeath, Kerry, Carlow, Wicklow and Kildare complete Dooley's 18-man squad.

Meanwhile, Kilkenny man Michael Walsh returns to manage the Ireland Under-21 side, with Laois' Eoin Reilly named as captain.

Reilly will line out as goalkeeper, and is joined by fellow Laoismen Andrew Collier and Chris Murray in the squad.

2010 All-Star Noel Connors of Waterford is set to feature, as is Antrim senior player Cormac Donnelly.

A total of ten counties are represented in the U-21 squad, with players from Laois, Waterford, Antrim, Fermanagh, Armagh, Kerry, Meath, Carlow, Wicklow and Tyrone gaining selection.

The U-21 Hurling-Shinty international between Ireland and Scotland will take place at 1pm in Sean Eifie Park, Ratoath, County Meath on Saturday, after the corresponding camogie fixture (11.30am).

IRELAND Senior Squad (v Scotland): Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny), Paul Dermody (Kildare), Stephen Clynch (Meath), Shane Dooley (Offaly), Arron Graffin (Antrim), Willie Hyland (Laois), Gareth Johnston (Down), Darren McCormack (Westmeath), Paul McCormack (Armagh), Barry McFall (Antrim), Patrick Horgan (Cork), Neil McManus (Antrim), Tom Murnane (Kerry), Brendan Murtagh (Westmeath), Eoin Nolan (Carlow), Andrew O'Brien (Wicklow), John Rowney (Laois), Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny).

IRELAND Under-21 Squad (v Scotland): Eoin Reilly (Laois), Ryan Bogue (Fermanagh), Andrew Collier (Laois), Nathan Curry (Armagh), Cormac Donnelly (Antrim), Noel Connors (Waterford), David Fitzelle (Kerry), Neil Heffernan (Meath), Eddie Kane (Carlow), Peter Kane (Wicklow), Keith Keoghan (Meath), Kieran McKiernan (Armagh), Shea McKiver (Tyrone), Chris Murray (Laois), Shane Nolan (Kerry), Dara O'Connell (Kerry), Adrian Royle (Kerry), Micheál Ryan (Carlow).

More in this section

CourtsGaaHeathrowPlace: Croke ParkPlace: RatoathPlace: InvernessPlace: LaoisPlace: MeathPlace: DownPlace: ArmaghPlace: WestmeathPlace: KerryPlace: CarlowPlace: WicklowPlace: KildarePlace: Sean Eifie Park,Place: Ratoath, County MeathPerson: Joe DooleyPerson: Tommy WalshPerson: Shane DooleyPerson: John RowneyPerson: Stephen ClynchPerson: Gareth JohnstonPerson: Paul McCormackPerson: WalshPerson: Jackie TyrrellPerson: Patrick HorganPerson: Willie HylandPerson: Arron GraffinPerson: Neil McManusPerson: Barry McFallPerson: DooleyPerson: Michael WalshPerson: Eoin ReillyPerson: ReillyPerson: Andrew CollierPerson: Chris MurrayPerson: Noel ConnorsPerson: Cormac DonnellyPerson: Paul DermodyPerson: Darren McCormackPerson: Tom MurnanePerson: Brendan MurtaghPerson: Eoin NolanPerson: Andrew O'BrienPerson: Ryan BoguePerson: Nathan CurryPerson: David FitzellePerson: Neil HeffernanPerson: Eddie KanePerson: Peter KanePerson: Keith KeoghanPerson: Kieran McKiernanPerson: Shea McKiverPerson: Shane NolanPerson: Dara O'ConnellPerson: Adrian RoylePerson: Micheál RyanEvent: Hurling-ShintyEvent: U-21 Hurling-ShintyOrganisation: IrelandOrganisation: U-21Organisation: ScotlandOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: Ireland U-21sOrganisation: Ireland Under-21Organisation: Laois'Organisation: -21Organisation: WaterfordOrganisation: CarlowOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: MeathOrganisation: DownOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: WicklowOrganisation: IRELAND Under-21 Squad
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd