Tipp U21s rout Galway to claim All-Ireland title

Tipperary 5-22 Galway 0-12

Tipperary 5-22 Galway 0-12

Tipp came out top once again to delight their delirious supporters with a second All-Ireland title in the space of a week.

Six days after landing the Liam McCarthy Cup, the county’s exciting youngsters routed Galway by 25 points to win the U21 title at Semple Stadium.

Galway’s displeasure with the choice of venue mattered little in the end, because on this sort of form, no team could have lived with Ken Hogan’s side.

Goals from Brian O’Meara, John O’Dwyer, Sean Carey, Patrick Maher and Noel McGrath underlined the superiority of the Premier county, but they were perhaps somewhaty flattered by the huge winning margin, for goalkeeper James Logue had to pull off three splendid saves to deny the Tribe.

Tipp got off to the best possible start with a goal inside the opening minute. It was Brian O’Meara who finished from a tight angle after the Galway defence had failed to deal with a high ball.

And they had a second less than two minutes later, this time John O’Dwyer applying a clinical finish after O’Meara had directed Seamus Hennessy’s long delivery into his path.

Barry Daly registered Galway’s opening score in the sixth minute, but it was Tipperary who continued to call the shots, and defenders Paul Gordon and Sylvie Og Linnane had to be on top of their game, making a few vital intervenetions.

Sean Carey, Michael Heffernan and O’Dwyer were all on target to open out a 2-4 to 0-2 lead by the 13th minute, and two minutes later, they had the ball in the net for a third time.

The influential Patrick Maher displayed exceptional vision to slip the ball inside for Carey to fire in a goal to the bottom corner.

O’Dwyer steered over a superb point to open up a 12 points lead, before full forward Gary Burke became the first Galway attacker to score.

But they continued to press, with midfielder Johnny Coen hitting his second point, and James Regan and Gerard Kelly also finding the target.

Galway substitute Anthony Cunningham almost made an immediate impact, but his first-time effort was superbly saved by James Logue.

Padraic Maher and Brendan Maher helped steady the ship at the back, but the Tribesmen finished the half strongly, with David Burke powering over a couple of long range frees to narrow the gap

Tipp led by 3-7 to 0-9 at the break, and stretched the lead with eye-catching scores from Noel McGrath and O’Meara.

But they needed another excellent save from Logue to deny Gerard Kelly, who fired in an angled shot on a breakaway raid.

Kelly was also denied by the crossbar, but there were no such problems for a rampant Tipp attack, who used those let-off as a springboard for another deadly surge.

Patrick Maher sliced his way through the Galway defence to fire home his side’s fourth goal.

With 15 minutes still to play, and 14 points behind, Galway were already desperately needing a goal, but they could find no way past the inspired Logue, who produced another wonderful save, this time to deny substitute Brendan Burke.

And they were caught out once again at the back, when Noel McGrath’s long range free deceived goalkeeper Finnegan and went all the way to the net.

Galway finished with 14 men after centre forward Niall Quinn received a straight red card seven minutes from the end.

And it was shooting practice for Ken Hogan’s side in the closing stages, with 11 different players getting their names on the scoresheet.

Tipperary: J Logue, K O'Gorman, Padraic Maher, M Cahill, J Barry (0-2, 1f), B Maher, C Hough, S Hennessy (0-2, 1f), N McGrath (1-3, 1-0f), S Carey (1-3), Patrick Maher (1-0), B O'Meara (1-3, 0-1f), M Heffernan (0-2), P Murphy (0-2), J O'Dwyer (1-3).

Subs: C Coughlan for O’Gorman, J O’Neill (0-1) for O’Dwyer, A Ryan for Murphy, J Gallagher for McGrath, K Morris 0-1, f) for Heffernan

Galway: C Finnegan, D Connolly, P Gordon, G O’Halloran, S Og Linnane, D Burke (0-2, 2f), N Donoghue, J Coen (0-2), B Daly (0-1), J Regan (0-1), N Quinn (0-1), E Forde, R Cummins, G Burke (0-1), G Kelly (0-1).

Subs: A Cunningham (0-1) for Forde, B Burke (0-1) for G Burke, J Grealish (0-1) for Donoghue, D Glennon for Cummins

Referee: J McGrath (Westmeath)

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up