Antrim's St Gall's power to football title

St. Gall's 0-13 Kilmurry-Ibrickane 1-5

St. Gall's 0-13 Kilmurry-Ibrickane 1-5

St. Gall's banished memories of their 2006 All-Ireland Club SFC final defeat as they took this year's title at Croke Park.

Stephen Moloney claimed a first-minute goal for Kilmurry but they rued nine wides as St. Gall's got on top.

The Antrim side hit eight points over the remainder of the first half as they foraged into a 0-8 to 1-1 interval advantage.

Moloney and Michael O'Dwyer tried hard for the Clare men, but the Saints prevailed with CJ McGourty landing 0-04.

With the disappointment of an All-Ireland Club Intermediate hurling final loss just three weeks ago also hanging over them, St. Gall's were keen to make amends in their centenary year.

That hunger was evident from the throw-in as Kieran McGourty sent over the first score after just 16 seconds for the Fall's Road outfit.

In a repeat of their start against Portlaoise in the semi-final, Kilmurry snatched an early goal with Moloney's well-taken effort sending the large travelling support from West Clare into raptures after just a minute.

Moloney finished the ball to the net, following good work by half-back Declan Callinan, but it took Michael McDermott's charges a further 24 minutes to add to their haul as St. Gall's seized control.

Scores were at a premium and it wasn’t until the 17th minute before St Gall's equalised, courtesy of a pointed free from CJ McGourty and an Aodhan Gallagher score.

St. Gall's continued to press hard, and although they were not always accurate in front of the posts the Ulster champions looked driven as they began to cause problems for the Kilmurry defence.

Centre-back Anthony Healy was the only St. Gall's defender to score during the 60-minute final, and his 22nd minute point was certainly one of the scores of the match.

Healy's point edged St. Gall's into a 0-5 to 1-0 lead, before CJ McGourty watched his 23rd minute goal chance slip away, following a terrific full-length block by Kilmurry defender Martin McMahon.

Kevin McGourty then ensured that all of the McGourty brothers had pointed by the 24th minute, as he gave his side a double scores lead.

Kilmurry showed tremendous heart and battling qualities, but could only manage a single point before the break with John Daly converting a free.

Scores from Terry O'Neill and Kevin McGourty closed out of the half for St. Gall's, giving them a four-point buffer to take into the second period.

It did not get any better for Kilmurry - the first Clare football team to play in an All-Ireland final since the county's minors back in 1953 - on the restart.

They failed to score again until the 43rd minute, and in that time St Gall's managed to land a hat-trick of points.

Kevin Niblock, CJ McGourty and Sean Burke were the scorers as the gap was widened to 0-11 to 1-1.

Stephen Moloney, who top-scored with 1-3, and O'Dwyer cut the gap to four points with ten seconds of normal time left, but St. Gall's looked far from troubled as a second Niblock point confirmed a deserved win.

After the game, St. Gall's captain Colin Brady accepted the Andy Merrigan Cup from GAA President Christy Cooney.

ST. GALL'S: Ronan Gallagher; P Veronica, A McClean, C Brady; M Kelly, A Healy (0-1), S Kelly; S Burke (0-1), A Gallagher (0-1); T O'Neill (0-1), Rory Gallagher (0-1), Kevin McGourty (0-2); CJ McGourty (0-3, 0-1f), K Niblock (0-2), Kieran McGourty (0-1).

Subs used: K Stewart for O'Neill (46 mins), S Burns for Burke (54), S Kennedy for Veronica (59).

KILMURRY-IBRICKANE: D O'Brien; D Hickey, M Kileen, M McMahon; S Hickey, E Coughlan, D Callinan; P O'Connor, P O'Dwyer; M Hogan, I McInerney, S Moloney (1-3, 0-1f); M O'Dwyer (0-1), J Daly (0-1, 0-1f), N Downes.

Subs used: E Talty for Hogan (12 mins), O O'Dwyer for Talty (33), M McCarthy for P O'Connor (42), P O'Dwyer for Downes (53).

Referee: Derek Fahy (Longford)

More in this section

CourtsGaaHeathrowPlace: Croke ParkPlace: LongfordPerson: St GallPerson: IbrickanePerson: GallPerson: Stephen MoloneyPerson: MoloneyPerson: Michael O'DwyerPerson: CJ McGourtyPerson: Kieran McGourtyPerson: KilmurryPerson: Declan CallinanPerson: Michael McDermottPerson: St. GallPerson: Aodhan GallagherPerson: Anthony HealyPerson: HealyPerson: Martin McMahonPerson: Kevin McGourtyPerson: McGourtyPerson: John DalyPerson: Terry O'NeillPerson: Kevin NiblockPerson: Sean BurkePerson: O'DwyerPerson: NiblockPerson: Colin BradyPerson: presidentPerson: Ronan GallagherPerson: P VeronicaPerson: A McCleanPerson: C BradyPerson: M KellyPerson: A HealyPerson: S KellyPerson: S BurkePerson: GallagherPerson: T O'NeillPerson: Rory GallagherPerson: K NiblockPerson: K StewartPerson: O'NeillPerson: S BurnsPerson: BurkePerson: S KennedyPerson: VeronicaPerson: D O'BrienPerson: D HickeyPerson: M KileenPerson: M McMahonPerson: S HickeyPerson: E CoughlanPerson: D CallinanPerson: P O'ConnorPerson: P O'DwyerPerson: M HoganPerson: I McInerneyPerson: S MoloneyPerson: M O'DwyerPerson: J DalyPerson: N DownesPerson: HoganPerson: O O'DwyerPerson: TaltyPerson: M McCarthyPerson: PPerson: DownesPerson: Derek FahyEvent: 2006 All-Ireland Club SFC finalEvent: 2006 All-Ireland Club SFCEvent: All-Ireland finalEvent: Andy Merrigan CupOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: St. GallOrganisation: KilmurryOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: SaintsOrganisation: All-Ireland Club IntermediateOrganisation: PortlaoiseOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: St GallOrganisation: GAA
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.