Dubs start year with defeat

Dubs Stars 3-13 Dublin 1-10

Dubs Stars 3-13 Dublin 1-10

Conal Keaney, David Henry and Bernard Brogan were in impressive form for the Dubs Stars as Dublin crashed to their first defeat of 2010 in today's new year challenge match, played under floodlights at the Fingallians GAA Club in Swords.

GAA President Christy Cooney and former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern were among those watching the first game to use the GAA's new experimental rules.

Keaney opened the scoring for the Dubs Stars with a well-taken point, and it was his side that made the most of a one-sided first half.

Keaney added another point to see his side break into an early 0-5 to 0-1 advantage, before the game's opening goal.

Right corner-forward Andrew Kerin pushed his side seven points clear with a well-executed three-pointer.

The Ballyboden St Enda's clubman took full advantage of the new rules as he poached a goal inside the small square.

Bernard Brogan was a major influence for the Dubs Stars as he added their second goal.

Brogan also tagged on a brace of points before half-time to push the Dubs Stars into a 2-7 to 0-2 lead at the break.

Dublin rallied at the start of the second half as Tomas Quinn slotted over a trio of points.

Eoghan O'Gara, Dean Kelly, Conor Murphy and James Brogan were also on target for Pat Gilroy's charges as they continued to eat into the Dubs Stars' advantage.

However, a brace of scores from St. Mary's clubman Blaine Kelly and Jonny Cooper kept the Stars on top.

The Dubs Stars held their own from defence to attack with corner back Chris Guckian adding a sweetly-struck point to push his side into a 3-12 to 0-10 lead.

Raheny's David Henry also had a growing influence from his midfield berth.

Dublin were handed a lifeline when Quinn knocked home a late penalty to cut the deficit to eight points.

But the Dub Stars were not to be denied victory as they kept their composure until the end to carve out a deserved nine-point win.

After the game, Dublin manager Pat Gilroy was tight-lipped on the possiblity of Ciaran Whelan making a return to the Dublin football squad.

Preferring to talk about the benefits of this pre-season run-out, the St. Vincent's clubman said: "It was (a useful exercise). We had a chance to throw in a load of lads who had never played before.

"It was always going to be a worthwhile workout for us."

DUBS STARS: David Nestor (Kilmacud Crokes); Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams), Ian Clarke (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Chris Guckian (St Jude’s); Darragh Nelson (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Niall O’Shea (St Judes), Michael Brides (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh); Michael Darragh MacAuley (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Andy Glover (St Judes); Adrian Morrissey (Kilmacud Crokes), Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Blaine Kelly (St Mary’s, Saggart); Andrew Kerin (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Kenny Naughton (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Kevin McManamon (St Jude’s).

Subs: Daire Walsh (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Seán Breheny (St Jude’s), Paul Griffin (Kilmacud Crokes), Seán Murray (St Brigid’s), Declan O’Mahony (Ballyboden St Endas).

DUBLIN: Michael Savage (St Vincent’s); Paul Conlon (St Vincent’s), Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge St), Conor McCormack (St Mary’s, Saggart); Paul Casey (Lucan Sarsfields), Ger Brennan (St Vincent’s), James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams); Eamon Fennell (O’Toole’s), Paul Flynn (Fingallians); Brian Courtney (Na Fianna), Shane McGrath (Thomas Davis), Darren Daly (Fingal Ravens); Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams), Eoghan O’Gara (Templeogue Synge St), Tomás Quinn (St Vincent’s).

Subs: Stephen Cluxton (Parnells), Hugh Gill (St Vincent’s), Nicky Devereaux (Ballinteer St John’s), Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s), Gerry Seaver (Ballyboughal), James Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh), Brian Sexton (St Sylvester’s), Dean Kelly (Trinity Gaels), Colm Murphy (St Jude’s), Ciarán Farrell (Fingallians), Alan Hubbard (Ballymun Kickhams).

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: swordsperson: conal keaneyperson: david henryperson: bernard broganperson: presidentperson: christy cooneyperson: bertie ahernperson: keaneyperson: andrew kerinperson: broganperson: tomás quinnperson: eoghan o'garaperson: dean kellyperson: conor murphyperson: james broganperson: pat gilroyperson: blaine kellyperson: jonny cooperperson: chris guckianperson: rahenyperson: quinnperson: ciaran whelanperson: david nestorperson: philip mcmahonperson: ian clarkeperson: darragh nelsonperson: niall o’sheaperson: michael bridesperson: eoghan ruadhperson: michael darragh macauleyperson: andy gloverperson: adrian morrisseyperson: kenny naughtonperson: kevin mcmanamonperson: daire walshperson: seán brehenyperson: paul griffinperson: sean murrayperson: declan o’mahonyperson: michael savageperson: paul conlonperson: denis bastickperson: conor mccormackperson: paul caseyperson: ger brennanperson: james mccarthyperson: eamon fennellperson: paul flynnperson: brian courtneyperson: shane mcgrathperson: thomas davisperson: darren dalyperson: dean rockperson: eoghan o’garaperson: stephen cluxtonperson: hugh gillperson: nicky devereauxperson: diarmuid connollyperson: gerry seaverperson: brian sextonperson: colm murphyperson: ciaran farrellperson: alan hubbardorganisation: dubsorganisation: dubs starsorganisation: dublinorganisation: gaaorganisation: ballyboden st endaorganisation: dubs stars'organisation: st. maryorganisation: dub starsorganisation: st. vincentorganisation: kilmacud crokesorganisation: ballymun kickhamsorganisation: ballyboden st enda’sorganisation: st jude’sorganisation: st judesorganisation: st oliver plunkett’sorganisation: st mary’s, saggartorganisation: st brigid’sorganisation: ballyboden st endasorganisation: st vincent’sorganisation: templeogue synge storganisation: lucan sarsfieldsorganisation: o’toole’sorganisation: fingalliansorganisation: na fiannaorganisation: fingal ravensorganisation: templeogue syngeorganisation: parnellsorganisation: ballinteer st john’sorganisation: ballyboughalorganisation: st sylvester’sorganisation: trinity gaels
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up