Cork and Galway confirm teams for camogie final

Cork will have experience on their side this weekend when they contest their ninth Gala All-Ireland Senior Camogie final in 10 years.

Cork will have experience on their side this weekend when they contest their ninth Gala All-Ireland Senior Camogie final in 10 years.

Caitriona Foley and her Cork team-mates will be all out to avenge last year's defeat to Wexford when they take on Galway in Sunday's decider at Croke Park, throw-in at 4pm.

Galway, who beat Cork in the round robin stage of the 2008 championship, are back in the final for the first time since 1998.

Explaining that preparations have gone very well, Cork skipper Foley said: "We couldn't really ask for anything more, everything is rolling on smoothly ahead of Sunday.

"We've been here before and hopefully we can handle it better than Galway but that has to be seen yet.

"Galway are amazing team, the beat us reasonably well earlier in the championship so we're under no illusions to the task that's in front of us. They are a strong all over the park.

"The fact that they beat us already will do their confidence the world of good, but for us we will concentrate on our game and bringing the All-Ireland back to Cork."

For the final, Cork manager Denise Cronin, herself a former All-Ireland-winning captain, has made one change to the team that beat Tipperary at the semi-final stage.

Elaine O'Riordan from Milford will start at left corner-forward, with Linda Dorgan dropping to the substitutes bench.

Meanwhile, Galway boss Liam Donoghue has made two alterations to the side that ended Wexford's title defence last time out.

Deirdre Burke makes way as Sarah Noone from Ahascragh joins Aine Hillary in the westerners' engine room.

Ardrahan clubwoman Brenda Kerins has also gotten the nod to start at left corner-forward, instead of Lorraine Ryan.

Wing-forward Veronica Curtin is a link back to the last and only Galway side to have won the title in 1996.

Their current team captain Sinead Cahalan said: "Our ambition all year has been to bring the O'Duffy Cup across the Shannon. You always want to be in a position that you're training for an All-Ireland final.

"Before the semi-final with Wexford we said that you get one chance to beat a great team but we beat Wexford twice this year.

"I hope we can do the same against Cork. We'll give it everything we've got."

CORK (SCC v Galway) - A Murray; L O'Connell, C Foley (capt), J O'Callaghan; G O'Connor, M O'Connor, S Hayes; O Cotter, B Corkery; A O'Regan, U O'Donoghue, E O'Sullivan; S Burns, R Moloney, E O'Riordan.

GALWAY - S Earner; S Tannion, A Kelly, T Manton; AM Hayes, S Cahalan (capt), N Kilkenny; A Hillary, S Noone; M Dunne, T Maher, V Curtin; O Kilkenny, J Gill, B Kerins.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up